BARCELONA


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
December 18th 2008
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Andrea, my flatmate and fellow teacher at Access College and I have booked ourselves a cheap flight and two beds in a hostel in Barcelona. I've planned one last get-away before my big departure at the end of the month, as I am very tired of London.

After Mike and my sister's huge birthday party on Friday, I only got 4 hours of sleep. I woke up just in time to take a shower and get ready before heading off to Luton and fly to Barcelona for the weekend. Andreea herself was coming home from a date and I had to meet her on the way to the station! She rang to tell me to get her passport as she was running late.

We enjoyed an adventure-packed weekend, which started with sleeping in a 8-bed dormitory with some very noisy party-goers that kept us awake all night long.

We had previously done some research and as Barcelona is packed with must-see monuments and tourist attractions, we had to decide on the major ones that we were both very keen on visiting. We shortlisted our preferences and decided that the list had to comprise the following: the famous Park Guell, undoubtedly Gaudi's houses. We also included the Monument of Colombus on the list, which is located on the shore, a walking distance from our youth hostel. We couldn't miss the world-renowned La Sagrada Familia, and the gem of Spanish heritage, El Poble Espanol de Barcelona which reproduces over 100 actual buildings, streets and squares that can be found throughout this amzing latin country.

Enjoy the picture, we surely enjoyed our last city break!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb