Bare Barcelona (Written by Maria, with picture commentary by Matt)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 11th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Barcelona
We spent two beautiful days in Barcelona. For me, Barcelona is one of the most romantic cities we have visited on this trip.

Autumn set in and the air was amazingly fresh, dry, and with a tinge of dead leaves that inherently mark a season of change. At the same time the weather was still summer like in that we'd break a sweat by mid afternoon while lying on the beach.

Las Rambles
In terms of the architecture, style, and variety of neighborhoods Barcelona has beaten the rest of the cities we've visited by miles. By night, Las Ramblas is an absolute must with artists, street performers, and little cute shops that make Barcelona the city it is. During the day, the street is even busier with people selling birds, chickens, and other animals (I know I thought it was weird too), along with a variety of whatever else you could imagine. Finally, and most vividly, I will remember the lively farmers market where we had the best freshly squeezed juices I had ever tried: kiwi and coconut, papaya coconut, strawberry pineapple, and mango pineapple. All 1 € a piece. If you didn't get my hint, I highly recommend Las Rambles area.

Gaudi
In Barcelona, I also was able to realize one of my small dreams as we visited famous Gaudi masterpieces. I exposed myself to so many Gaudi profesms and it was time to finally experience the buildings, the art, the little intricacies that you can only fairly value when in their actual presence. Mad, simple, and practicle designs where seeming inconsistency is really just a nuianse, a brain teaser of the artist's well conceived grand ideas. If ever I would design my own house I would immerse myself in Gaudi hopping for a glimmer of his inspiration to shine through. Did you get the hint this time? Go See Gaudi's works of art!

6 weeks of traveling and we miss home
We loved traveling, but we missed home. A huge highlight of staying in Barcelona for a few days was going to see our first American movie in 6 weeks - wall-E. It was surreal when midway through the movie, during a lull I thought about whether it'll be cold or not walking home from Mazza Gallerie (Chevy Chase, MD)....however, as reality struck the credits, in spanish, rolled down and
Matt admiring GaudiMatt admiring GaudiMatt admiring Gaudi

His church reminds me of wine bottles that have had lit candles allow their wax to drape along their sides.
we walked along the beach of Barcelona on our way home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Guadi's ApartmentGuadi's Apartment
Guadi's Apartment

I wonder what the rent was?
Dinner with friendsDinner with friends
Dinner with friends

Coincidentally, My high school friend Jason was in Barcelona with his wife, wife's sister and her husband. Great night out!
Maria Admiring Gaudi's Mansion Living RoomMaria Admiring Gaudi's Mansion Living Room
Maria Admiring Gaudi's Mansion Living Room

No Maria, We can't afford this house
--
-

I have a similar picture of me taken 10 years ago, I'll see if I can find it.
--
-

I have a similar picture of me taken 10 years ago, I'll see if I can find it.


Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 42; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb