La Llacuna


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 20th 2008
Published: September 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Once again, not Barcelona, Vilafranca.
I had my first day of real work today, and I´m actually pretty tired!! My tasks for the day were to vaccum and mop, mow the grass, add a billion emails into his database, and port a BILLION bottles of that delicious cava from my potential room to the new cellar. I got almost all of it done, and I think I´ve done enough for today.
This area where I´m staying is amazing! On his plot of land, Anthony has an orchard with apples, pears, almonds, cherries, green and purple figs, something that looks like a pear, but when I tried it today, it tasted like crap, apricots, and wild berries. All organic, of course! He also collects fresh water from a local spring, and you can actually taste the difference! Nothing like Evian. There´s also an enormous German Sheperd, and a little boy named Jethro. Jethro´s dad (Anthony) is British, and his mom is Chinese, so he has the most bizarre mix of the two accents...just try to imagine it! He also grew up speaking Spanish and Catalan as well. No wonder he seems a bit batty. He pronounce his name "Jeffro" and refers to himself in the third person.
When I first showed up (my taxi driver seemed concerned dropping me off, and in broken english gave me his card, and said I could call him day or night if I needed to be picked up), Anthony introduced me to his kid and dog, and said deadpanned, "he´s trained to kill"...I laughed uncertainly, and now I realize it´s just a British thing. He´s actually pretty cool. I think I´m going to get access to some cool wine stuff too. Reds in Spain aren´t as good (in this region, at least), and that bubbly white seems to be the best product. I´m surrounded by vineyards here, everyone has at least a little one. It´s really amazing! And he makes it seem so easy to just grow and make everything yourself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Green FigsGreen Figs
Green Figs

See how dewy?


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb