Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 12th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Eureka classEureka classEureka class

This was my class the 2nd week at Eureka. This was the last day of my class. I felt like Mom asking for a picture...but I´m glad I did.
I finished packing for Barcelona this morning, told Charo bye, and went to school with my bag so I can leave straight from there. After my classes, I called Mom to tell her to send my debit card to the school so that hopefully there won’t be as much confusion! Plus, I found out I needed a copy of my health insurance. So, today was the last day of my classes at Eureka, but I know I’ll be back because there’s actually free internet there. I left straight from Eureka to the train station, but I didn’t realize how the train station works. I got there WAY too early. I was really bored! They only announce the tickets that are 20min from departing…I got there like 2 hours early! Ha.
Finally we boarded. The inside of the train was pretty much exactly like a plane…actually, the whole ride was pretty much like a plane…except the whole process was much faster, I was only sitting there maybe 5 minutes and we were moving. They showed ‘Charlie Wilson’s War’ in Spanish…but I fell asleep - I had no idea what was going on.
When we got to Barcelona, I took the
Mi profesora de gramaticaMi profesora de gramaticaMi profesora de gramatica

This is Pilar, and she has to be the cutest little lady I´ve ever seen! (except of course Mom). So in Eureka, they try to not speak ANY English at all, so when we don´t understand something, they have to act really antimated and actually play guestures or something...but Pilar, she REALLY got antimated, it was so cute! I loved her.
Metro to my hostel. It was really easy…and I was REALLY careful. The metro stop was just a little bit away from the hostel…which is huge. It’s got like 6 floors…all full of rooms w/ 12 beds each. Yep, this will be an experience. So far, all my roommates are guys from England and Australia…very strange. It’s really busy hear…young people everywhere - there’s a bar and cafeteria on the 2nd floor. For dinner, they told me of this place where it is all you can eat/drink for 10 Euro. That sounded like a pretty good idea. It was lonely, but it was OK. I just went back to the hostel after dinner. I was really mad because there’s supposed to be free wi-fi internet, but my computer won’t connect. So I have to just use the computers they have here….which are only a few. I did get to talk to Ray a little bit. Now…I cherish every call I get from him. My stomach gets a little queasy when I know he’s going to call because I’m so excited! Anyway, tonight, I’m going to try to work a little bit on my application for vet school because I’m tired
 AVE AVE AVE

So here´s a pic of the super fast train! I got to Barcelona in 2.5 hours...by car, it´s 8! We were going 300 km/hr...I´m not sure how fast that is in mph, but I know it´s pretty darn fast for a train.
and don’t feel like sight-seeing or anything. So, first impressions of Barcelona? Eh. But the architecture and museums are what I’m more excited about, so tomorrow should be better, plus I’ll have someone to be with. Oh, and I asked about SCUBA diving, and this guy told me not to waste my time because the Mediterranean is murky…good for fishing, bad for SCUBA. So, maybe when I go to Morocco or Valencia or Lisbon

It's now like 2:30. I read a little in my Jurassic Park book...it takes forever for me just to read 1 chapter...but then I fell asleep. When I woke up, everyone was either gone or asleep, so I went to the common room to use the computer to see if Ray was on. He was, but apparently the common room closes...hm. So I went back to my room, but I stopped and sat in the hallway, hoping maybe I´d get a signal...and I did. So I talked to Ray w/ video...for 3 seconds...then the internet cut out. I kept disconnecting and reconnecting like every 2 min. for about 30 min (NOT exaggerating...but even a couple minutes of talking to Ray was worth the hassle!).
Eating AloneEating AloneEating Alone

This is in the all-you-can-eat buffet that I ate at alone...La Vaca Poca.
Finally, it was getting too frequent, so I decided to go to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.3178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb