Sunburnt in Barcleona....


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 30th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oh man....so it´s only been two days since I´ve written but SO MUCH has happened!!! I finally arrived in Spain at about 11:00 p.m. on Monday night, about an hour and a half late, due to a flight delay. So when I land, the lady next to me saw the directions I had for the place I was supposed to be staying in Barcelona( I was going to couch surf) and she was like " you do know that we landed in Girona (another city in Spain, an hour and a half away from Barcelona) and not Barcelona, right? Yeah...I had no idea. So apparently I had to take an hour and a half bus ride to Barcelona. But...PROBLEM....the metro (subway) stopped running at midnight and I wasn´t getting into the city until about 12:30, so I had NO WAY to get to this guy´s house. I started to get a little nervous...I´ve heard that Barcelona at night is no place for a girl on her own. So I got on the bus and saw some kid by himself with a backpack. I asked him if he had a hostel set up in Barcelona and when he said he didn´t, I told him neither did I, and could we maybe find one together, cause I was scared to be by myself. Once we arrived in Barcelona, we walked about 15 minutes into the city (bags and all) to find a hostel. The first 5 hostels we asked at were booked! We walked around until like 3 a.m. to find a hostel and it was exhausing! My back hurt, my feet hurt, and it was hot!!!! Thank god we finally found one...it was really expensive (35 euro a piece...) but I didn´t care at that point. At least it was a private room with a shower so we could relax and not have to worry about others. We also had a balcony so we decided to take a look outside. Apparently prostitution is legal in Spain (or they just don´t get caught) because there were two prostitutes in the allyway below our balcony...preforming ahemm....services. Lol. We were dying laughing!!! I guess I just would never expect to see something like that....but it´s a whole different world over here!! After a good night sleep, we woke up and went to the beach for the day....where I proceeded to get sunburnt (not too bad, just a little). Which is fine, because I was in DESPERATE need of a tan! Another thing that I wasn´t prepared for.....the beaches here are topless. It´s interesting to look around and just see women walking around, boobs hanging out, without a care in the world. And unfortunately it seems like the older the women get, the more they like to show them. Gross. Lol....I´m actually going back down to the beach in a bit and might even test my courage a little...When in Rome, right? I appologize to anyone in my family who is reading this haha.....anyways....so I just got into my next hostel and it´s pretty bad. It´s far away and in a crappy area. But I guess it´s ok because they are hosting a bar crawl tonight so at least there will be something to do. I was going to stay here a few more nights, but I´m really not that impressed with Barcelona. Besides the beach, I just really don´t care for it too much....so tomorrow I am headed to Madrid!!! Write more soon! xoxo


Mom...I´ve heard that I can only stay in the European Union for 90 days....and my trip is like 112 days. Could you maybe call someone and find out what I have to do about that? I don´t want to get stuck here and not be able to get to London to fly home!!! Thanks!!

Cassie...I miss you too!!! I´ll be excited to be home in November, but for now, I´m enjoying the moment and loving every bit of it!! The Italian boy was NOT cute, and basically wouldn´t leave me alone!! Lol....too much for me to handle! He was nice, but I´m way too independent for someone like that!!! Haha...anyways, when did you go to the Sox game? with who? Anything else new with you?? Keep me updated! Miss and love you!

Jane- I´m glad you were able to find me and read my blogs!! Everytime I go to a new place, I think about that book that you bought me!! It couldn´t have been more perfect!

Chris R....New Yorkers are hostile....blah blah whatevers....and we aren´t soft, you´re just assholes lol....miss you!! And Bennigan´s nights, name that tune and starbucks Tall, non-fat, caramel macchiatos with 4 splenda!!!! When do you take your test again?

Scott - I´ll be calling you next week to see if you follow through with what you said you were going to do!!! Did you ever get the book I sent you? You said you got the bday card, but didn´t mention the book....

P.S....I want more updates on everyone´s lives!!!! I feel like you guys are reading about my day to day but not really telling me what´s going on with you!!! I don´t want to be out of the loop for 4 months!!! Keep me updated, please!!! Even if you feel it´s boring stuff, I won´t think so!!! I want to hear about it!!!!


Advertisement



30th July 2008

Heyyy!
So I love reading your blogs... I look almost every day to see if you update it! Barcelona sounds.. interesting haha but definately a good experience. I'm home for this week and next week and heading back the 12th to move into our house! I'm pretty excited. I went down to Boston for my friend Meghans 21st birthday which was a shit show but fun and I thought of you. Keep writing blogs and be careful! If you need extra money you could probably work the corner by your hostel and make some good cash! haha kidding.. XOXO!
30th July 2008

pictures
p.s. can you post pictures on here or are you going to add them to facebook?
31st July 2008

so i started bawling when i saw my name.lmao im sucha drama queen.i miss you so much.theres so much shit going on right now, with justin and everything, and i hate that i cant call you and talk to you abut it.i miss you so much. you better go topless on the beach, lmao dont apologize for that thats ballin, how many ppl can say that they did that?! i went to the sox game with this kid andrew who went to monty tech, he bought me my ticket lol it was SO fun, obv. ill be getting my room mate assaingment soon, ill be sure to do some research on her and give you all the info.hahaha. love you so much.<33333333
31st July 2008

sunburnt
Hey! good to hear from you or at least about you. Topless is over-rated but if you do have any photos... only joshing. Barca is a fabulous place but may be your circumstances affetced your view? If you get arrested for non compliance (90 days etc) we put you up in our jail!!
1st August 2008

Hello. So I got Skype, but I dont know how to use it... haha, but I miss you! This is my out. I can ignore schoool and work for a twenty minutes and read your updates, makes me happy!
1st August 2008

90 day visa?
your mom checking on this. never heard of this. american embassy should be able to help but your travel agent (here) should know about this and have told you about this. topless? in europe i'm sure no one cares. having more fun reading about you than i'm having on my own though i keep busy - not fun stuff like you.glad you keep meeting people to travel with. guess i'll always worry about you because i love you and i'm your GRAM. keep up the good times. love, gram i check every day sometimes twice) to keep up with you.
1st August 2008

hello
Hi Celina, Love reading your blog. Please be safe and be smart. (I know that you will, but as a mother I have to say that). I love you and be safe, Love, Jane

Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb