Alot has happened in a couple of weeks


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola,


Wow, these past weeks has been absolutely insane. I started the rest of my class, which are all going well. Getting that out of the way:

To start off, my friends and I took a trip to Montseratt, which is 45 minute train ride away and is a monastery in the mountains. These is the most sacred religious place for Catalans. Montseratt is known for the mountain formations and their boy choir group. We took a cable car to the city and then hiked up to the peak of Sant Joan. Unbelievable views and the rock formations were unusual. When we got up to the peak of the mountain, the only people that were up there were rock climbers which was a little frightening. It was a great trip, so make sure you take a look at the pictures.

Second to religion for Catalans is the soccer or futbol team Barca. My friends and I went to a game last week and had great seats. We paid 10 euro and were right in the middle. The only problem was that we were in the last row. The stadium, Camp Nou is the 2nd largest stadium in Europe holding over 90,000 people. There is not a bad seat in the house. I made friends with some high school kids and they taught me the chants and the dirty things they say to players. Barca won the game 1-0 and it was so much fun to be at the game. At the game you see old men, kids, women all yelling their hearts out cheering for the team.

Finally this weekend to celebrate the holiday of Carnaval, I went to a beach city half hour south of Barcelona called Sitges. Sitges is a very small town that is known for having a large gay population. They are also known for their Carnaval celebration. We spent the whole day in Sitges and everyone was wearing costumes. People were dressed in all walks of life and it was fun looking at everyone. People were drinking in the streets all night, and I drank a whole lot of Cava, which is Spanish Champagne (The spanish hate the French and Cava is produced in Spain). It seemed like every bar we went to was gay because there were men wearing hardly nothing dancing on the tables. None the less, it was a blast. The first train that left Sitges was not until 4 in the morning, so we were all very tired by that time. It was awesome and such a good time.

I am going to Madrid this weekend, so I'll discuss that the next time out. I send my love to everyone and take care of yourself.

Hasta Luego


Additional photos below
Photos: 70, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb