tourists?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
December 9th 2007
Published: December 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A sign directed at a view point in the Parc Guell questioned proudly in prefect English..."if it is tourist season, why cant we shoot them?"

It made me think. I live in Toledo, a city renowned for its historical value and beauty. UNESCO has declared the whole of the old town a world heritage site, making Toledo unique in the world. And I will admit that when I first arrived, I was as lost in the warren of smal winding casco streets as any tourist that I might have to scoot round on my way to work now. But I get angry with them. I cant help thinking..."oh for goodness sake, move faster" or "do you have to stand in the middle of the street?" or "could you please have your architectural debate somewhere other than underneath my window on a sunday morning?"

Dont get me wrong, most of the time I will stop and wait for someone to take their photo rather than walking through their shot. I will even offer to take it forthem. I will offer my help to people standing on street corners with maps in their hands and frowns on their faces. Because I know what it felt like to be that tourist. And I would like to think that if I am lucky enough to live in a place like Toledo, I should be prepared to share my beautiful town with other people. Not to mention the amount of money and jobs that are created for Toledanos from the tourism industry. Im an English teacher but most students of English in TOeldo work in the tourism indutry. Tourists bring wealth.

However, the next time I am in a hurry, rushing through calle de comercio...I very much doubt I will be able to hold back my contempt for the pack of tourists standing in a horde, blocking the only way through, who havent the slightest realisation that actually...not all of us are on holiday here!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb