The Gates of Hell


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 23rd 2007
Published: September 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night, I went down the street to have dinner. I took a mental note of that restaurant you suggested, Eileen, Troubador. I saw it when I was walking. I peeked inside and there were Filipino people working there. I went in and sat at the bar. I had sangria, more tapas and yumm Catalan Creme Brulee. I was stuffed. Definitely been eating more than normal here in Spain. I chatted with the bartender who was filipino and he actually spoke Spanish very well but not English. Anyways, he was real nice. I ended up chatting with the couple next to me who were from Ft. Lauderdale. I told them about my trips to Boca and we ended up keeping each other company for the rest of dinner. It felt good to finally have a normal conversation with someone over 20 years old. =)

After that, I went to street of Placa de Jaume, to wait for the Correfoc, the fire parade. OH MAN. It was crazy. It was like the Disneyland Electric Parade gone wild. They actually shot fireworks and stuff off the floats. It was getting in the audience and stuff. All the Spanish kids were prepared complete with hoodie and scarves over their faces so they could party under the sparks. It was intense. I was so not prepared. I had a tank top on. I was a little scared of getting hit by the loose sparks. Hahaha. My heart was racing. Anyways, it lasted like 2 hours and I had so much fun. Yay for Estrella Damm cerveza.

I walked back towards La Rambla and spent the rest of the night watching tha bands play on stage and in the streets. Went to sleep shortly after.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2866s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb