BARCELONA!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 8th 2007
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have just returned from the most fantastic weekend. It was truly somthing else. We arrived in Barcelona Friday night and were non-stop sight-seeing since we got there. The first night, we had a 3 course meal and I had lamb...the biggest piece of lamb you ever did see. I could not finish it. It was delicious though. On Saturday, we got up early, took advantage of the buffet breakfast, and then made our way to La Sagrada Familia. It was the most magnificent cathedral I have ever seen. It is still not yet completed but should be in the next 30-80 years. It was started in 1882!!! We took the elevator as far up as we could and then still had to climb some stairs to see the other parts of it. I was terrified because the stairwell was very narrow and the steps were made of old stones and it was bumpy and lumpy and i basically was starting to freak out. So I took some pictures and got the heck down as fast I could! We then wandered over to Las Ramblas and that was so much fun! There were street performers and there was a market with fresh fruits and fresh fish and lobsters and mussels and clams and I tried a dragonfruit for the first time. It tastes like a very bland kiwi. But I was proud of myself that I tried something new.

We had lunch in this great restaurant where we shared paella con pollo. It was the best paella I ever had. It was so good. And then we went to see the Christopher Columbus monument, where he is pointing toward the New World and then we saw the Gothic Quarter and the Old Town, which we were not really sure what we were supposed to be seeing. Very anti-climatic. We had been walking from 9:30am and were coming up to 8:00pm. The whole day was walking. I thought my feet were going to give up and quit on me. But we kept trucking along and were so fortunate to see the Fountain. The fountain changed colors and rose and fell to classical music. It was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. I took pictures but they dont do it justice. It was something you ahd to see to believe. After theat we got some Italian food (yes, in Spain!) and it was so good. By then it was midnight and we were pooped so we headed back to the hotel for some much needed sleep.

On Sunday, we had another early start and we headed to all of the Gaudi sights. He helped in the design and construction of La Sagrada Familia and he is famous for his mosaics and modernistic architecture. We went to his home and to the museum and then quite possibly the best part of the whole trip (part of my top 2 - the fountain being number 1), was the Gaudi Park. It reminded me a little of Golden Gate Park in San Francisco. Gaudi designed it and there were such beautiful views. The pics will explain better.

The whole trip was fantastic and I am so thankful that I got to go on it. It really was eye-opening and I am so grateful that I got to go on this trip to Barcelona. Anyways, enjoy the pictures and I will write again soon. I miss everyone! Au Revoir and Adios!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



9th July 2007

how come ive known you longer than most people and i dont know about your love of boats..lol

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb