I love to throw my stuff in the trash!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 14th 2007
Published: May 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yep, I didn't realize how fun it was until the trip to Barcelona gave me the chance to do it!

Here's the story. I was all excited to be on my way to Barcelona and spent all day Sunday getting to the Frankfort airport from Rothenburg. I got an awesome deal on the plane trip. only 50 dollars which was a steal, but there was a catch. See the baggage people decided not to go to work that day so everyone on Iberia or Click Air had a choice. Get your baggage the next night, maybe... or you could carry it on. When they said maybe I knew I was going to have to carry it on and then it hit me.... security. Nothing more than 100 mil and no sharp objects.
Luckily for me I had found a great store in Munich that carried all the stuff I need for the wedding and had bought all the things I needed and one by one I got to toss them into the trash can. I could not tell you how pissed off I was and to top it off I then got to drag my 50 pound bag up a nd down a ton of stairs to get to the plane. It was one of those first come first serve deals so everyone was pushing and cramming into the plane. I guess a bunch of people were put off because the flight attendant was passing out complaint forms with the peanuts.
The part that really got me was not once did anyone say sorry about the baggage problem. Nothing. So I filled out the complaint form and totaled up for them how much I threw away, it's depressing... I won't tell you how much.
That of course couldn't be the end of the fun. I got to Barcelona at 10pm and figured I should take a taxi to my hotel so I wasn't dragging myself around Spain at night. Got into the cab. He couldn't figure out where my hotel was so was and spoke no English and my Spanish sucks so I jumped out of the cab and before resorting to crying.... AGAIN.... I asked a police officer and he figured out the bus I needed to take. Thank God for policemen!!! Now if he could have done something about the baggage workers!

Okay, it's behind me... I have vented and thank you for being there to listen!

Now onto what you have missed. I left Munich last week and didn't go to one of the Nazi camps after a lot of thought. See, I have a hard time watching scary movies much less ones that are real so I didn't think that I would do very well at the camps. I guess God wanted me to hear about it because I went to get my free beer from the hostel bar *gotta love hostels* and there beside me was the tour guide for Dachau. He asked why I didn't go, I told him, he told me about the camp. So I got to go without stepping foot in the place. I was glad I got to talk to him about it and maybe next time when Brett and I are touring Europe we will go, but it's not something I could do by myself.

The next day it was onto Rothenburg and that couldn't have been planned better. I got in at noon went on a city tour. Wandered around the castle gardens will great views of the country side and then headed to the recommended restaurant. Thank you, Gudrun and Ernie, it was the best and I am not talking about McD's. I voted for the authentic German cooking instead! Then it was onto the Night Watchman's tour fo the city. The guy smelled like he had been drinking all day and forgot the words to "Ring around the rosie" when he was explaining the meaning so I am pretty sure he was a little toastie! Just a good ol German boy! I ahd the best view from my room and finally had a good nights sleep. Of course the next day was my hell day, but we have already forgotten about that, haven't we!!
Now I am in Barcelona and have seen so much Gaudi that it is coming out of my ears. I did make a venture to the store to see if I could replace some of my missing things, but not a lot of luck. Maybe tomorrow!!

Miss you and love you lots, Stacey


Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb