Nice IS wonderful!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A 9 hour trip yesterday got me out of Barcelona and into my first and only stop in France. I got into nice at dusk and went to check out the sights. I was in for a few B's. The first I found was at the port... tons of BIG BOATS. Most would call these boat a yacht but I feel like any boat that can fit your family and all your friends families on board with room for the crew should be given a new name. They were huge and very nice to walk by and think... gosh I bet that is a pain to keep clean. I can barely keep our house clean.
Okay onto the next B... bachelor party. I went to the old town to see what was going on and this party of guys all wearing doc masks comes running down the street. The area is filled with outdoor cafes and these guys have dressed their bachelor up in a hoochie halloween costume ( I think it was a nurse) and a g string and had him asking the people at the cafes for things on his list. He had a IV bag filled with alcohol and I am pretty sure it was not his first bag. It had to be the 3rd or 4th to get him out of the house in that little number.
Next B is for the birds that swarmed the Parc de la blah blah Chateau. It is up on a hill and lit up at night with these birds doing laps and loops around it. Seriously looked like a Hitchcock movie without the blood or the birds chasing you.
Around the corner I headed down the promenade... very romantic when you are by yourself.... to the next B- Bikers. These guys were racing up and down the street doing wheelies, making their tires squeak. Tons of testosterone!!
Last B was found further down the promenade... Blades. Rollerbladers had set up little cones about a foot apart from each other and would would swerve back and forth at top speeds or do a little dance around the cones. It was very impressive... mostly because I am terrified when I get on my skates. In my defense, I am also usually attached to Guinness and afraid that she will see a squirrel and take me for a ride!
So that was my night! Today I explored the old town and got to see some more street performers. One was a complete freak doing a weird dance in slow motion and climbing the street signs. I was just glad that he realized the cars in the street were real and didn't try to dive into them. You never know!!
As for Barcelona, I ended my trip by going to Montserrat the last day. There is a monastery located at the top of some sharp cliffs and it was nice to get out of the city. I took the walk from the monastery to the top and after about 1 hour of hiking I was rewarded with a spectacular view. I loved getting to hike and being away from all the crowds.
I must say that over the last 9 weeks I have learned a lot about myself. I like traveling alone more than I thought I would, but can't wait to have my family and friends here to share these experiences with. This may be one of the last blogs since Brett , Celeste and Charles get here on Sunday and the rest of our family and friends are soon to be on their way. Have a safe trip everyone and I hope you have enjoyed reading my thoughts as I run around Europe. I promise to make you all sit and look through my 4000 photos when I get home. Yep... I am sure you are looking forward to it and you better not start avoiding my phone calls.
Hey wait!! Instead of the reception we can just put a big projector at the front of the room and we can all look at them all together!What a great idea!!

Everyone is thinking there better be an open bar. I'm just joking, I won't make you do that.

Miss you and love you a TON...
Stacey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb