Blog Entry...Take Three!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
December 14th 2006
Published: December 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Windy Streets of MarbellaWindy Streets of MarbellaWindy Streets of Marbella

Discovering the hidden streets of the old town in Marbella with 2 of my favorite people!
I think this is the 3rd time I have sat down to write this blog…and it’s not that I don’t want to write it, I DO…it’s just that there is SO much to write about, that between you and me…I don’t know where to begin! My trepidation is that if I just start listing all the wonderful things I have done over the last month, I may simply lose you…and because I would HATE to do that, I’m going to do my best to keep it interesting and hopefully keep your attention! Here it goes…

The last month has been more than I could have ever asked for. Just when I thought my travels couldn’t get any better, they did! From spending a beautiful week with my parents and Dawn’s aunt and uncle in Marbella, to entertaining 4 of my beautiful girlfriends in Barcelona, to spending 2 fantastic weekends with my brother, I have felt (AND FEEL) utterly blessed….beyond words really.

Believe it or not, this was the longest period of time I had ever gone without seeing my parents. So, you can imagine how elated I was to spend time with them! After all, these two have been
Sippin on SangriaSippin on SangriaSippin on Sangria

Sun, socializin, and sangria...GOOD TIMES, GOOD TIMES!
my biggest fans for years…pretty much since the day I was born! In fact, my parents make me feel more legendary than Oprah…so much so that I have even contemplated having my OWN talk show!! Heehee…You never know, anything is possible!

Our week in Marbella was magnificent, and if you want to talk about the stars aligning, Dawn’s relatives were there at the same time! She had her father’s 2 older sisters and their husbands in Marbella as well…CRAZY, I know! We were fortunate to get to know her Aunt Priscilla and Uncle Peter. They are so loving and genuine that you can’t help but smile the entire time you are with them. My jaw got quite the workout, and each smile-wrinkle I have is well earned!

Needless to say, we all thoroughly enjoyed Marbella. In addition to being a perfect blend of mountain and sea, green and blue, old and new, Spaniards and Englishmen, and plenty of relaxation…the time I spent with my parents stands out the most. We explored the city inside and out and discovered 2 other lovely historic cities, Rhonda and Mijas. We talked, we laughed, we relaxed…and like I said, we earned all
Dad's Got His Eye on the PrizeDad's Got His Eye on the PrizeDad's Got His Eye on the Prize

We know what Dad's going to be driving post-retirement!
those wrinkles, each and every one!

My parents are so vibrant and youthful, and like my Father always says…stuck at age 32!! I don’t know how they do it...as I get older, they just get younger!!! I am so proud of them. I am also so thankful for all they do for me. They have been great examples of love, support, encouragement, faith, and wisdom in my life. I hope to provide such support and lovingness to my own family one day! Mom and Dad, thanks for being two of my biggest blessings. I love you!

Wow…and can you believe I still have SO much more to tell you? I will try not to lose you…pinky swear.

Upon arriving back to Barcelona, Dawn and I had not one, not two, not three, not four, but FIVE fun visitors waiting. In chronological order of their arrival, we present to you: Stef, Angela, Sarah, Alissa, and Dave. Stef, Ang, and Sarah are awesome friends of mine from San Francisco; Alissa is my best friend from high school, and Dave is Dawn’s good friend from Perth. I might also add that Sarah and Alissa are friends that have visited us
Me and my MommyMe and my MommyMe and my Mommy

I know we're good-looking, but check out the view behind us too...breathtaking!
TWICE along this journey. Refer to the Thailand and Greece blogs….wooooweeee, how did I get so lucky?!?

We had a jam-packed 10-day schedule awaiting us. Minus a few days that Stef, Ang, and Sarah rendezvoused in Sevilla and Granada, I woke up each day with my friends sprawled out all over my room…pure happiness.

Again, we did SO much. From sight-seeing all over town, lighting our taste buds on fire, dancing until dawn, hosting Thanksgiving dinner, and internalizing our special bonds…it was an UNFORGETTABLE 10 days, and such a treat to spend quality time with my girls. It is amazing how we can add so much perspective and value into one another’s lives. I am thankful to have friends who constantly challenge and inspire me. Friends like that are rare gems that sometimes take years to find, and well, I must have been a great miner in my past life because I have found so many precious jewels. Girls, I miss you.

It didn’t stop there however. Only days after my girls left, my BIG BROTHER, Andrew, came to town. We shoved a lot into 2 days. From seeing Bob Sinclair deejay at Catwalk, to wandering through
One Big Happy FamilyOne Big Happy FamilyOne Big Happy Family

Doing what we do best...finding the most delectable restaurants!
the narrow streets of El Borne, to feasting on all sorts of gastronomical dishes; we still managed to catch up and talk about a rainbow’s spectrum worth of topics. My brother is always great for bringing new ideas to the table. In fact, throughout my life, he has been one of my most significant teachers. Although I probably learned my first swear words from him, I have also learned more profound things, like the importance of confidence, a positive attitude, focusing on your dreams, and knowing that anything in life is possible. He is a true inspiration to me and to many others.

And well, one weekend with my big brother just did not cut it, so I decided to meet him in Dublin the following weekend where he was on business. I wish you could have seen me. I felt like a kid who JUST learned to talk. Dublin was my first English-speaking city since Perth, and I couldn’t shut-up! I talked to taxi drivers, to cashiers, to wait staff, to Father Christmas in the middle of the street, and even to the little lost puppy wandering around town. It felt so great to be in a place
32...I am telling you!32...I am telling you!32...I am telling you!

It's true...you are lookin at a hip couple ! Mom and Dad in Rhonda
where people understood me, and I understood them…well, for the most part…some Irish lads have quite a thick accent, but you get the picture!

I was ecstatic to be with my brother in a city that welcomes everyone, and has an energy that is so jubilant. The Irish people are truly one of a kind. We had a ball checking out the nightlife, which would remind anyone of his or her Aunt Sheila’s wedding from 1985. If you are missing songs in your life like “Twist and Shout,” or want to re-live the glory of Wam…head to Dublin, you will be surrounded by it! It was quite a riot, but the Irish know how to have fun, there is no doubt about that.

One of our highlights was touring the Guinness Storehouse and learning about how they produce such a fine beverage. The museum was so precisely laid out, and made learning about fermentation SO fun…in fact, it took Andrew and I directly back to our days of chemical engineering. The cool thing about learning the process at the storehouse however, was that there was an ice cold Guinness waiting for us at the end of the tour….aaaah,
Cava TastingCava TastingCava Tasting

Sarah, Ang, Stef, Alissa, and Me at one of my favorite Basque Tapa restaurants...relishing the local Cava.
refreshing. You’ve never tasted Guinness so good until you've visited Dublin…and might I add that the buzz makes you more giddy than a teenage girl at her 8th-grade school dance!

My brother and I had such a great time together in Dublin and we managed to expand the domain of our relationship. Love you brudda!

Upon returning to Barcelona, I spent my last days there relaxing, practicing Spanish with my Starbuck’s buddies, conducting AM kick-boxing sessions in my room (I am the teacher AND the student…heehee), and soaking up the time I had left in a city that I LOVE.

This past Thursday, Dawn and I packed our bags, closed la casa, and headed to London. She will be leaving me on Christmas day for Chicago to give her family the best Christmas gift they could ever ask for…HER. As for me, I will be celebrating Christmas with my Grandpa and Aunt in London, which will be fantastic. After that, I embark on another grand adventure when 4 of my girlfriends (Heather, Amy, Niti, and Megan) meet me to celebrate New Years…or as the Scots call it, HOGMANAY, in Edinburgh. From Scotland, Heather and I put aside
MonsterratMonsterratMonsterrat

Alissa and I at the top of the mountains in Monsterrat, an area with a very prominent Monestary outside of Barcelona. It took us about 10 tries to get this photo right!
the Scottish “Hiyas” and welcome the French “bonjours”…and head to Paris!

And, well, after Heather heads home, I become a one-woman show. I will start singing, dancing, AND playing the triangle ALL at the same time, and although it may be tough, it will be an exhilarating challenge. After all, if you are not challenged, you are not growing, and if you are not growing…life becomes ordinary. And, really, who wants to be ordinary?



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

It's a fact!It's a fact!
It's a fact!

No Barcelona visit is complete without the infamous Dawn and Caroline bike ride. Ang, Alissa, Stef, Dawn, Dave, Sarah, and Me in Barceloneta at the beach!
Ladies and Gentlemen...Ladies and Gentlemen...
Ladies and Gentlemen...

I present you Alissa, Stef, Sarah, Danny (my friend from SF that now LIVES in BCN with his awesome girlfriend), Me, Ang, Dawn, and Dave...groups don't come more fun than that!
Unconventional ThanksgivingUnconventional Thanksgiving
Unconventional Thanksgiving

That's what happens in a country where pigs out number Turkeys! We still managed to have a great time nonetheless!
Girls Night Out at PACHA!Girls Night Out at PACHA!
Girls Night Out at PACHA!

Don't mind the random in the upper left hand corner!
I initiated them...I initiated them...
I initiated them...

Into the Star-Jump Club! Ang is still learning, but she is SO close! Having fun at Parc Guell.
Guess Where?Guess Where?
Guess Where?

Dawn, Laia, and Danny...at Starbucks! Danny and his girlfriend, Laia, helped make our stay in BCN unforgettable! Thanks guys...we will miss you!
We have arrived.We have arrived.
We have arrived.

Andrew outside the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin. Taste buds are salivating!
We have conquered.We have conquered.
We have conquered.

Enjoying our Guinness at the Gravity Bar in the Guinness Storehouse. After all that chemical engineering, it was well-deserved!


25th December 2006

Inspired
Caroline- pics and stories of family, friends and travel are inspiring. Thanks. Enjoy London. Kevin
25th December 2006

spreading the happiness!
Oh my dear Caroline.....how wonderful to share such fun times with all of us. We so much enjoy these blog entries... I feel like I'm right there with you...! You two have been blessed, but think of all the blessings you spread to all those you encounter. YOur happiness and eagerness to experience "living the life wherever" is contagious and so many lives you both have touched are great memories for all who have had the pleasure of your company. I hope the travels never end, for wherever you go keep spreading the "happiness". I can't wait for Dawn to arrive, hope you enjoy your Christmas. Love to you! Mrs.D

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb