Happy 2007!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 13th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christmas in LondonChristmas in LondonChristmas in London

Auntie Venice and My Jiddo, who have so generously welcomed me into their home and daily lives these past few weeks!
Happy 2007!! I don’t know if there is sugar in the air, but everyone I talk to seems to think that this year will be sweeter than the last, and I can only agree! Not that traversing across 5 continents hasn’t been extremely exuberating, because it has been superior to that, but I believe that each year SHOULD be better than the last. Right?? So, here is to wishing you many loving blessings and a year filled with all the mushy stuff!

That said, let me bring you up to date on all the excitement 2007 has already brought my way! One of the biggest changes thus far is the new makeup of Team America 2007....me, myself and I! Dawn’s departure on Christmas day was a little surreal. It didn’t quite hit me that she was gone until I went to pour 2 glasses of water, to then realize that I was only ONE…or when I crawled into bed and said good night, to then realize the pillow next to mine was vacant! And now!...I am writing this blog, thinking…holy moly…not only is my partner in crime gone, but so is my fantastic editor! But don’t fret…even though she may
You Can't Go to Scotland..You Can't Go to Scotland..You Can't Go to Scotland..

Without going on the infamous Scotch tour! Amy bought another glass after the tour as well. ikh!...but if you DO like that stuff, check out the selection behind the bar!!
be miles away, she has still offered her brilliant services to me…now THAT, is the beauty of the internet, and not to mention, a great friend!

Now, with the new composition of Team America aside, let me get back to the excitement and blessings of 2007! I am currently back in London with my Jiddo (Grandpa in Arabic) and my Auntie Venice. They have been great company and look after me very well. We spend our time chatting, playing cards, cooking, laughing at my efforts to speak Arabic, and yes, though I hate to admit, we do watch over-dramatized British soaps every now and then!

So now that you know where I am, let me back up a few weeks and tell you about my adventures across Scotland and Paris! I wasn’t allowed to mourn Dawn’s departure for long because the day after she left, my great friend, Niti arrived. Niti is one of my best mates from college. She was my saving grace in my painfully difficult computer science class. We stuck through it together, and have stuck together ever since!

We dilly-dallied around London, mainly talking and catching up. Poor Niti…I took the game 20
Chase the RainbowChase the RainbowChase the Rainbow

Stirling, Scotland. View from the castle...and we thought Braveheart had it rough!?! heehee
questions to a WHOLE new level…I bombarded her with things I wanted to know about her life in Chicago. It was such a luxury to sit and talk to her, bringing me back to the times we lived together at school and in San Francisco. We managed to see a Broadway show called Avenue Q, which was, interestingly enough, put on by puppets. We figured we had enough human interaction and wanted to do things a bit differently…why not!?! It was definitely entertaining and the whole evening was super fun. We had a lovely Japanese dinner beforehand and tasted an entirely new dish for us called Okonomiyaki (try saying that 5 times in a row!), which is a basically a cross between an omelet and a pizza! And to think we called ourselves Japanese connoisseurs! How embarrassing?!? Heehee

A couple days later, another great friend, Heather, arrived to London. Our festivities were only beginning! To prove what a small world we live in…Heather and I went to high school AND college together, but we became the best of friends once we reconnected in San Francisco through our mutual friends, Niti and Amy (Niti’s twin and great friend of mine).
CANCELLED?CANCELLED?CANCELLED?

If this was the CANCELLED party, can you imagine what Hogmanay is REALLY like???!!!
The tune running through my mind…it’s a small world after all…heehee!

So, the very next day, the 3 of us packed our hats, gloves, not to mention, all of our turtle necks, and headed to Edinburgh, Scotland. We were to be present for Europe’s GREATEST New Year’s Eve party, Hogmanay! Hogmanay is the expression used by the Scots that simply means NEW YEARS EVE!

And like I said, the party was only getting started because upon arriving to Scotland, we met up with Amy, Niti’s twin, who is also a bundle of charisma! Which meant that within 3 days I reunited with 3 remarkable women whose presence alone made my heart twinkle. Forget Cloud Nine, I was on Cloud One Hundred! Seriously, I was so happy! And as icing on the cake, that evening, ANOTHER friend, Megan, met us in Edinburgh as well! So there we were, five fearless females, ready to welcome 2007 in an unforgettable way!

Let me just start by saying, Edinburgh is undoubtedly beautiful. The rolling green hills create a perfect backdrop to the old town that houses century’s worth of history. Although our stay in Scotland was downright freezing, we managed to
WE MADE IT!WE MADE IT!WE MADE IT!

As the clock struck midnight, the crowd cheered: Let's CHARGE the castle!!! And so we went, and here we are! You can't see the castle, but I promise...we are there!
bundle up and enjoy all its glory.

One night, we ventured on Edinburgh’s famous graveyard tour to learn about the plague-ridden bodies buried beneath the city. Although we were looking for a good ole scare, we managed to have a good ole laugh. Don’t get me wrong, our guide did her best to taunt us with her chilling ghost experiences (which I don’t doubt!), but all I could focus on was the chilling wind, chilling every single one of my bones! I suppose it was for the best that we didn’t encounter any ghosts, after all, I would hate to be the one to disrupt their sleep!

We also stopped at the Scotch Museum to enlighten ourselves as to how the beverage comes to life. I will probably lose some ‘cool’ points from some of you for saying this…but HOW ON EARTH CAN YOU DRINK THAT STUFF??? The tour was very interesting…the drink however, I can do without!

Another highlight of Edinburgh was visiting Mary King’s Close, which is known to be one of the most haunted places in the city. Be careful, they say…that chill down your spine may be one of the many ghosts brushing
You ALSO Can't Go to Scotland...You ALSO Can't Go to Scotland...You ALSO Can't Go to Scotland...

Without meeting boys in KILTS!!!
your back!!! The close is a narrow street with houses on both sides that could have stretched up to 7 stories high. It is hidden beneath the city’s Royal Mile, and is where real people lived, worked…and unfortunately died.

In Scotland, we also took a quick train ride to Stirling where Heather studied abroad. It was a picturesque town with a token castle at the top of the hill. The life of a king could not have been that bad with views like that, that is for sure!

And now let me tell you about HOGMANAY, the occasion that drew us to Edinburgh in the first place. Well, on NYE day, we were a bit alarmed by the fact that people were prohibited from going to the castle due to high winds. The city was afraid that people would simply blow off…imagine that! We thought to ourselves, it can’t be THAT bad. Well, apparently it was bad enough for the city to CANCEL all Hogmanay events…which meant that our street-party wrist bands were useless! Now, before you drop your jaw in shock and horror, you shouldn’t feel too bad for us. We did not let some silly winds
Oue Oue!Oue Oue!Oue Oue!

Heather and Caroline at the Arc di Triumf
ruin our NYE! After all, each of us had lived in Chicago and had thereby suffered FAR worse by the way of cold winds! Instead, we headed for the streets and found ourselves in a conga line on the Royal Mile just before the countdown! Yes, Hogmanay was cancelled, but NYE was not. We welcomed 2007 with open arms as we embraced one another knowing that, although 2006 will never be forgotten, 2007 will be a year to remember! You can quote me on that!

Shortly after our unpredictable yet MEMORABLE New Year, Heather and I said goodbye to Niti, Amy, and Megan and departed for Paris. Rough life, I know!

Paris is…oh, let’s see…grandiose, charming, romantic, enchanting, and simply extraordinary! Heather’s parents gifted us their Marriott points which allowed us to stay at the Marriott on the Champs Elysees. For those of you who don’t know Paris, that is a HUGE DEAL! The Marriott was stunning and not to mention perfectly situated in the heart of the city.

Walking around Paris was entertaining on its own. We had a brilliant time wandering the streets, popping into corner cafes, marveling at the magnificent buildings, eating fabulous desserts, and absorbing its diversity. And despite what most people think of the French, I found them to be very friendly!

Heather was such an awesome companion to have. We tried to discover all the nooks and crannies of the city, but there are just SO many, endorsing it as a place to re-visit in the future! And when that day comes, I will be ready to indulge in its madness all over again!

Well, I can smell my dinner cooking and will sign off for now. Thank you for taking an interest in my nomadic life. It genuinely means a lot. This Sunday I am heading to the Austrian Alps for a week, and will let you know how the skiing compares to Tahoe! Until then, take care and God bless!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

You got it!You got it!
You got it!

Underneath the Eifel Tower! It's as good as the pictures!
Quite the attraction, thanks to Dan Brown!Quite the attraction, thanks to Dan Brown!
Quite the attraction, thanks to Dan Brown!

drum roll please...The Lourve!
My FAAAAAAVORITE!My FAAAAAAVORITE!
My FAAAAAAVORITE!

Notre Dame Cathedral and all its glory!!
Dining in Parrrrris!Dining in Parrrrris!
Dining in Parrrrris!

Worth the trip alone! Especially if you are a lover of desserts!


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb