Montserrat and more sun


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Monistrol de Montserrat
September 1st 2005
Published: September 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well now that I have a stunning set of permanent sunglasses attached to my face there will be no pics of me for awhile!

After my wonderful time of the beach, shopping in the markets off Las Ramblas and generally watching the world pass me by in Barcelona I decided that a day on a mountain with monks was in order...so Montserrat here I come.

Well in the middle of NO where there is a magical mountain that houses the art work of the likes of Monet, Picasso and Renoir to name but a few. It also has the most amazing cathedral with the shire to the Black Virgin and a very friendly kitty cat. For those of you who know how much of a bad mother I am for having left my little Mickey with mum, you will understand that time spent with my new little friend on the mountain was a welcome surprise - I call him vertigo...it was a really tall mountain!

To add to the fun I ate more chirizo than any young lady should, read 3 novels and had a drink or two in the hot dry afternoon. This made coming down the
La BoqueriaLa BoqueriaLa Boqueria

The Markets off Las Ramblas
mountain in the cable car next to a tour group of middle aged Americans much easier to handle. Especially when they found out that I spoke English and assumed I understood the conductors Spanish instructions...lucky for them I learnt how to make educated guesses at a young age (thanks Dad).

Oh well back to reality and as I am writing this from the air conditioning in my London office I am quickly reminded of my recent adventures everytime I reach for the phone and fell the burn of that wonderful new tan. Only 4 weeks of work left and then next stop is Marrakesh with Debbie and Tania C in October.

Will let you all know of the little adventures between now and then, as I am sure they will be many.

Love Heaps Tania

Mandy - Thanks for the pics of Amelia's birthday, she is so big!!!
Mum - Just tell Telstra that you don't know where the UK is...they will assume you are an idiot and if not you can always leave the country and come live with me!
Dad - leave mum alone...she needs to talk to her little girl 😞
Kate -
Wonderful street artWonderful street artWonderful street art

Otherwise known as Graffiti!
How is the new fitness plan going?
Paul - Good work bro...keep that money rolling in...next stop Augusta hehe



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Vertigo keeping me companyVertigo keeping me company
Vertigo keeping me company

When finished discussing the meaning of life over a bowl of water, we both retired to the shade for a cat nap.
Las RamblasLas Ramblas
Las Ramblas

My final stroll down the hip street that is Rambla saw me perusing the numerous works of the talented (and then some) street artists.


Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb