October 18-Embarkation


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » La Rambla
October 19th 2010
Published: October 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

October 18, 2010 - Embarkation
Despite a 7:00 am wake up I sleep in until eight, shower, dress and have another healthy breakfast; coffee, juice, cereal, tomato with olive oil and Italian bread. But first I head to the WIFI in the lobby to research the port incident. Nothing about it on the news so I guess that it was a drill. I head to the department store and pick up wine then return to finish packing, check out, get a taxi (the driver hefts the bags up the alley) and to the port. There are not two but five cruise ships in port. No wonder the crowds are massive and the lines long. Embarkation is speedy, no line at all, and soon I’m on the Lido deck by the pool enjoying a Mojito and catching up on the blog. Soon the cabin will ready and I’ll drop off my carryon and begin to explore.
I have the 1:00 am insomnia again so I’ll continue.
I arranged for my Internet access, checked out the poker table, computer dealer, visit the crow’s nest and my cabin is ready. It’s very comfortable and I plan to use the balcony a lot, weather permitting. My luggage arrives and OH NO!!!!! Blondie has not packed her smart casual blouses!!!!!! They are still hanging in the closet at home. Drat, double drat! Oh well, I’ll make due and they do have stores here. Beverly comes to welcome me. It is so good to see her. Bob is resting as they have had a full day in Barcelona and he is a bit tired. After the boat drill we meet at the pool and trade travel stories about our trips over.
Before I know it it’s time for dinner. I’m not used to this early seating. My tablemates are great. I’ve been so lucky having nice people to dine with. Chuck and Carol are living in Nebraska. Carol’s sister Rita is from the LA area and Brenda & Dave live just southwest of Akron, Ohio. They have wonderful senses of humor.
As you all know I’d talk to a snake on a log so I have been chatting up folks along the way. One comment I make is that I’m glad to be away from the ugliness of the election season and everyone I talk to feels the same way. What has surprised me is that Ruth from Tempe AZ is progressive and is disgusted with the Gov and McCain in their anti Latino stands. Tracy is a twenty something woman who was working in France and Italy at wineries. She is on leave from a NYC company that has something to do with wine. Like many of her age she doesn’t pay any attention to politics. Chuck, Carol and Rita are proud Democrats. Dave and Brenda are independents and we’re all wondering what crazy dust has been sprinkled on the country. So far no Tea Party people are visible.
After dinner I head to my cabin, as I’m feeling really sleepy. Back home it’s naptime. I’m comfortably tucked in when the ship begins rocking and rolling. I look out to the verandah and sheets of water are flying past. The Med is churning and the boat is rocking side-to-side and shuddering. I secure my wine. The hangers in the closet are knocking together. I am on a ship and it feels like a ship and I’m loving it. Time to try to get some sleep. Tomorrow, Monaco!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb