Salamanca, I will miss you


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
May 24th 2013
Published: May 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After breakfast this morning, I made my way to my last Spanish classed at Mester. I have had so much fun in my classes, that I am really sad about ending them. Although I did find out that I passed my exam today with a 90. After class, we went home to eat lunch with our host families for the last time. I took some time to pack up all of my things, pick up some last minute things, and look over how to get to the next city. We had a farewell dinner tonight with the headmaster at a nice place called Vida & Comida. It is a nice restaurant located outside of the plaza major. They fed us 6 courses, starting with ensalada primavera. It was full of fruits like strawberries, apples, and pineapple, mixed with lettuce with a mayonnaise vinegar dressing. If I thought it was delicious, you know you would too. The next course was timbal bocarte which was sardines. It was the only course I didn’t try because I don’t like fish. The timbal bocarte was followed by Carpaccio de pulpo. What the name really means is Octopus. The octopus tasted like turkey and eggs, which was very good but I couldn’t eat too much of it. Before our main meal, the last course was Risotto de boletus y parmesano. It was rice with parmesan cheese and mushrooms. The moisture soaked into the rice, making it delicious. The main course I chose was Rabo de toro con jarabe de calimocho with a desert of cheesecake and brownies to follow. The course was the bull’s tail meat sautéed in a wine and coke mix. It tasted absolutely delicious! I definitely will be cooking more things in coke mixed with wine. Our wonderful 6 course meal came to an end at 12 with us having to be at the bus stop at 6 in the morning. We said our goodbyes, thanking everyone for their hospitality. I walked around the plaza major looking at the beautiful lights in the dark sky, feeling sad. These past two weeks have been so much fun, learning Spanish, living in a beautiful historical city, and meeting people from all over the world. I am so thankful that God gave me this trip, taking care of everything for me. I am so glad that I had a wonderful opportunity like this, and hope to always remember these two weeks. I finally understand the importance of the Breakfast Club. It was about joining together people who would have never been friends without being at that detention. I would have never met and made friends with everyone without Salamanca. Although I am sad to leave my first part of my trip behind me, I am excited to start my new journey. Don’t you forget about me Salamanca.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb