Salamanca...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
January 21st 2006
Published: January 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I woke up this morning at 7:00, to leave by 7:30, so we get to the train station by 8:00 for an 8:45 train ride. It was a 2 hour ride so I got to sleep a bit, but it was uncomfortable. So my suitemates, this girl named Jenny, and I went to Salamanca. When we got there, we went straight to the old Plaza Mayor and got some breakfast. Because I don't drink coffee, I'm always getting Hot Chocolate, which is no shame. It so good! It's actual melted chocolate!! I'm sure it's not the best for my health, but you only live once, right? So yeah, then we walked around town. It was cold and we didn't want to spend a lot of money so we looked at a lot of architecture. You can check out the pictures.
The only thing we actually paid for was the Art Nouveau and Deco Museum. They had a gorgeous stained glass ceiling and really great exhibits. No cameras allowed though, sorry! The ride back was worse than there because the assigned seats were backwards from the direction we were going. I was starting to feel pretty sick and couldn't really fall
Howard and IHoward and IHoward and I

Although the 4 of us look seated and ready. We ended up having to change our seats because the train had assigned seats and we weren't in them. Also we weren't seated together.
asleep. The views were pretty nice though. When we got back to Madrid, I wanted to walk home from the station to calm my stomach, but we ended up going the wrong way and then we were freezing, so we took the Metro. Even with all that, it was really a nice day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

The AstronautThe Astronaut
The Astronaut

In 1993 during a restoration of the doorways, a sculpture added an astronaut. At first people were upset, but then later said, "Well he's the closest one to God."
Below the AstronautBelow the Astronaut
Below the Astronaut

The tour books also pointed out this dragon that looks like he's eating ice cream.
The frogThe frog
The frog

It is said that if you can find the frog, without any help, on the front of the University, you will have good luck, imparticulary for students, good final exams. I found it!


Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0968s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb