Salamanca


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
September 19th 2005
Published: September 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

¡Hola amigos!

This past weekend, I went to Salamanca with my university here in Madrid. It wasn´t quite as exciting as the last weekend (I know my parents will be glad to hear that one!) but still pretty interesting. Friday night, I went to see "Embrujada" (the movie "Bewitched") in Madrid with some friends. Then after that, we went to a "chocolateria" to eat chocolate y churros. Basically, they give you a plate of churros (which is fried sweet bread sticks, a lot like a funnel cake...) and this cup of hot chocolate. But the "hot chocolate" isn´t your normal hot chocolate, it´s a cup of pure melted chocolate!! YUM!! sooo good! It´s a tradition here for the Spanish to eat chocolate y churros on the weekends after going to the bars or the discotecas. The chocolaterias don´t even open until 11 or 12 at night and then stay open until 7 a.m!

I got home late Friday night, to say the least, and then had to be up at 7 a.m. to make it to the bus station where we left for Salamanca. It was a 3 hour bus ride. Salamanca is west of Madrid, right on the border of Spain and Portugal. On Saturday, we visited this HUGE cathedral and also the University of Salamanca. The Univesity is one of the 3 oldest in Europe. It was established around the same time as Oxford. For dinner that night, we went to a traditional Salamancan restaurant. I ordered fish, so good! except it came with the head still attached so that was a little gross, haha! We spent the night in a hotel in Salamanca. It was pretty nice, REALLY NICE actually when you consider the last place we stayed was the OTB hostel in Tarifa!

Sunday, we toured a convent and had some free time to go shopping or look around some more. Salamanca is basically just a really old cultural town, so I´m glad that I go to school in Madrid were there is A LOT more to do! We left around 3 and were back to Madrid by 6. Then, last night, Oli and I went to Hard Rock Cafe in Madrid, haha, yes, an American restaurant in Spain.

This upcoming Wednesday is Maggie´s 21st birthday, so we are all going out to dinner with her and then......well, you know..... And Sunday we are going to a bull fight. It´s going to be really sad, but I still definitely want to go to get the whole cultural experience.

¡Hasta luego!

Advertisement



19th September 2005

I liked this weekend better
i especially like the tour of the convent. Probably a good thing to consider doing every weekend...
20th September 2005

mmmmmmmhmmmmmmmm.........
Coolio!!!!! I'm glad Mom and Dad didny have to have a heart attack while reading this one!! Guess what?!?!?!?! I made the Sound of Music!! :) I'm Gretel an dApril in Brigetta ( the 3rd youngest girl!!) I dont know how th eaudiance will react to haveing a 14 year old being 5 and a 16 year old being 9..... well, they will just have to use their amaginations on this one!! well, I love yo uand miss you sooooooooo much!! ohhh yeah!! Did yo ugo on Luftonsa Airlines to go there? and if you did... did yo uget me and Ape some tea!! :) heheh well, c ya! -Jill

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb