Finally have some pictures to show!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
September 28th 2005
Published: September 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

La corrida de torosLa corrida de torosLa corrida de toros

Me at the bull fight
So I just finished taking my final exam; yes, I already have had a final and have only been taking classes for a month. College in Spain doesn´t start until October, so for the month of September, I have been in the "intensive one month program" to get us accustomed to classes in Spanish and caught up to what a normal Spanish student should know. So I have finished with my first month of classes and will have a new schedule come October.

This past weekend was my first full weekend in Madrid. On Friday we went bar hopping and went to a discoteca. I met some really nice madrileños (Spaniards from Madrid) at one bar so was able to practice my spanish skills with them 😊 Saturday, Maggie, Kate, and I took the teleferico (cable car) to the outskirts of Madrid where there was this HUGE park called Casa de Campo. It was so funny because the whole park is basically just a bunch of trails and you have no idea where you are going. Also the poor park is so dry so it was just like we were trecking across the desert! There is also a Warner Brothers
SegoviaSegoviaSegovia

Me in Segovia at the top of the "summer home" of Ferdinand and Isabela
amusement park inside this park (haha) as well as a zoo (to give you an idea of how big it is!) so we walked by those. We packed a picnic lunch and ate beside a lake. After our adventures in the park, we went to a drama gratis (free!) about Don Quijote. It was for kids, so that was perfect for our level of spanish! That night, 4 of us girls met up with a group of about 10 Spanish chicos 😊 and they took us to a Spanish street party! It was about 400 people, and at one point we all had to run from the police because it is illegal to drink on the streets of Madrid! However, the party basically just crossed the street and the police seemed to think that this was okay. Not sure why one side of the street was okay but the other wasn´t, but I guess the police just wanted to look like they were doing something, haha.

Sunday afternoon, I went to Retiro park with Oli then went to la corrida de los toros (a bull fight). The worst part was when they killed the first bull because I didn´t know what to expect. They had 7 bulls come out, but they actually let one bull live (not sure why). So they killed 6 bulls in all. It was really sad, but I am glad I went because it was a cultural event that I am glad I saw while in Madrid. However, going one time was definitely sufficient.

Today is Shaley Hoover´s 21st birthday, and we are taking her out to a Mexican restaurant! I am so excited because I am definitely craving some burritos and chips and salsa. Funny how I am in a Spanish speaking country but they never eat "classic Mexican food." Then tomorrow we are leaving for Galicia, which is in northern Spain. We will be gone from Thursday through Monday. I am so excited! Galicia is suppose to be one of the prettiest places in Spain and is suppose to have the best seafood since it´s right on the coast.

Hope y´all enjoy my pictures. Miss you every day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

¡chocoleteria!¡chocoleteria!
¡chocoleteria!

Rhett and Ashley after eating chocolate and churros
Maggie´s 21st birthdayMaggie´s 21st birthday
Maggie´s 21st birthday

Me and Maggie with the hairdryer I got her for her birthday!!
riding the telefericoriding the teleferico
riding the teleferico

Kate and me riding in the cable car to the park Casa de Campo
Casa de CampoCasa de Campo
Casa de Campo

These are the desert trails where we were walking in Casa de Campo!
El pobre toroEl pobre toro
El pobre toro

After he killed the bull


28th September 2005

We were just talking about you
I was on the phone with your mother on my way to work and we were just talking about you when you were writing your newest update. Everything you are doing sounds so exciting. OUr annual meeting is tomorrow and I have tons to do to get ready for that. Then Ocotber will be a much more normal month for me work wise. Ellen starts swimming lessons tomorrow. We are working on the potty training with Lauren. Mark will be traveling a few times here in the fall for training for his new job with James Hardie. Have a fun time in Galcia - loved the photos.
29th September 2005

dljfsai gajio s;djio
Howdie ho ranger joe! I think you need to put a pic. of Oli in there! mmmmmmmm.... Mexican food does sound good:) even though we just had FOundu tonight! mmmmmmmmm.... foundu...... why doyo ukeep putting all of these things about bars and police chasing ya!! do yo uwant ME and Ape to get lectured to death!!! hheheh j/k I know you want it to remember by but you gotta condiser your sisters safety!! heeheheh j/k have a great time where ever your goin this weekend(since you always are outa Madrid!) I love you! -Jill aka: Wolfo:#
30th September 2005

you are livin large little lady. (like the alliterative nature of my remark) it's early here, the sun just came up and i ate cereal. neato huh. aecs
30th September 2005

Miss you guys!
Hey Laura! Looks like your having a great time! Things are the same without you and Maggs here. Tell Maggs I said hey by the way. I can't wait to hear all your stories! Hope to hear from you soon! Vance

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb