¡Yah for fin de semana!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
September 16th 2005
Published: September 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

¡Hola amigos!

I just finished taking my first exam here in Spain. It was okay, not too hard, but I had to study for it. Just wanted to give you all an update on my week....

Monday, Maggie Holmes, Kate Keegan, and I went exploring around Madrid. We went to Plaza de Espana (and saw this HUGE statue of Don Quijote, he´s everywhere in Spain...), los jardines del Palacio Real, y el parque del oeste. At el parque de oeste, you can look out over the city. Plus, the park faces the west, so we watched the sun set behind the mountains, SO PRETTY!! Then Wednesday right after class, I went with the other Furman students to see a movie- "Las Princesas." It was about these two girls who are prostitutes in Madrid...very depressing, but it brought up a lot of interesting points. After watching that movie, I am pretty sure that I am becoming more fluent in Spanish because I could understand just about everything they were saying. Now if only my speaking skills were as good....hehe. My goal while I´m here is to dream in Spanish. They say that if you start dreaming in Spanish, that means you´re pretty much integrated into it. Can´t say it´s happened yet... My thoughts are still a mixture between Spanish and English, but I still have 3 months, so we´ll see...

Last night I went to the Juanes concert with 10 other girls from Furman. ¡Que divertido! We stood on the floor level so we could get closer to Juanes and be able to bailar, haha 😉 The whole stadium where he played was PACKED!! There were hardly any empty seats, and on the floor level, we were packed in so tight! It was awesome though! Juanes is fenominal, and to hear him in a Spanish speaking country (since he is Hispanic!) was amazing. Getting home after the concert was another thing. The metro was packed with people! The concert didn´t end til 12:30, and I´m not sure what time I got home but it was late. And this morning, my exam was at 8:30.....I don´t do 8:30.....so I definitely had un cafe grande this morning to get the caffeine flowing!

This weekend we are going to Salamanca on Saturday morning and coming back Sunday night. Probably no topless beaches this weekend, but hitchhiking?!?! we´ll see.....

Advertisement



19th September 2005

Keep up the good work
SOudns like you are still having a great tiime. How adventurous to see a movie - were there subtitles in case you could not understand? It was a great weekend in Mn with warm temps and sunshine, so we went onthe boat a couple of times - it is nice to have it easily accessible so you can jump on at a moments niotce. Choir starts this week and I am excited about getting back in the routine of fall and winter. Enough of my boring life - continue to have more fun and happy dreaming!

Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb