Sept 30


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ponferrada
October 8th 2012
Published: October 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sept 30 My leg will not stand up to the climb to Rabanel and definitely not down the other side.I'm disapointed but I do want to finish,so we are taking a bus to Ponferrada.This is a large town 62000,but the old part insulates you somewhat.Being Sunday everything is closed,so we didn't get to see the castle built by the Knights Templer.Denis I did get some pictures for you though,I know you are a fan.I also had my first plate of pulpo (octopus),pretty good actually.

Oct 1 Villafranca 23 kms.Tested my leg today,we walked with Mary and Paul from Ireland.Mary walks faster and talks faster than anyone I know.Seriously!It really made the day go byquickly.Sampled some wine at a bodega along the way.The warm weather is back and the vineyards.We saw people harvesting the grapes so I kinda joined in,theygave me a pair of pruners and away I go.They gave us some grapes to take with us,I think they had as much fun as I did.We were late 4:00,still very warm so we just sat in the plaza and refreshed ourselves.Some other Canadians from Red Deer joined us,great conversation,they're all coming to Inuvik and Nfld.They were friends with Ron Mclean so Aiden had some stories to swap.

Oct 2 Left at 8 am and it took 4hrs to go 11 kms.2.5 hrs straight up and 1.5 straight down.Leg is much better.The views were fantastic,really feel like you are at the top of the world.Going down mostly through forests of chestnut trees,literally 1000's of them.There are a lot of small hamlets with older people tending gardens.Nothing goes to waste and they work very hard. We arrived 3pm and my legs are feeling it.The Casa Rural is beautiful,overlooking a field with cattle,peaceful.Aiden is drinking Tino Vinto and he's become a real fan of olives.Started clouding over and getting cool again,dropping down to about 5 tonite.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb