Live from Carrion de Los Condes


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Castrojeriz
September 19th 2012
Published: September 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ola,

Well today we started traveling the Maesta. The plains. We will have 4 more days of walking flat before we get some terrain. We willcross the 300 mile point tommarow. Damn I actually walked 300 miles. Its a lot longer than you think. And yet its been quite short. And to think I did it with a broken finger to boot. This brings a new meaning to picking my nose as it barely fits. Having 8 hours to attempt that feat gives one something to look forward too though. Enough of the booger talk.

We have a couple walking who are blind. Blind! If that is not inspiring enough they always seem to be ahead of me. I would give them wrong directions but that is wrong. There is also a woman who has walked 2000 kilometers from Beligium so far. She was paralyzed for over 10 years from a brain aneurism. She gained her mobility back and now it's leaking again. She cannot remember short term and follows the arrows that point to the Camino. Many help her back from local stores or places to eat. Yesterday she argued with the hospilaro to give up her bed to a tired elderly pilgrim unable to make it to the next alburgue. She was going to sleep outside under the stars. Jesus H Christ do we take life for granted. Out here everyone goes in that mode. All we need out here are the basics. A place to rest our heads with food and water. What a simple concept. People from every part of the world living and getting along everyday on those simple principles. Like I have said before this is something you can't explain, you have to experience.

The biggest problems anyone has encountered out here are Snorers. If violence happens that will surely be the cause of it. Tullio has major compatition out here. 1 person can keep a room up. This is communal living most times. So after a long day of walking, sleep can be important. We need rest. 20 to 25 miles per day doesn't seem far but try doing that everyday and through different terrains. It gives you a lot of time to clear your head.

Well I am almost half the way and some of the people are thinking of going to Lisbon Portugal or Paris afterwards for a few days. I am considering it although I really miss the family a lot. Is it wrong to become a 54 year old hippy? The many wonders of the Camino.

Well its SSS time so I will be signing off. Life is much better than I imagined...



Rich

Advertisement



20th September 2012

I LOV YOU!
I am so proud of you!
22nd September 2012

Hey kiddo. I'm far to tired to walk back there and beat your ass. I have not shit for 200 miles so I think we are on the same wave length. We do have the same genes you know. Anyway enough about poo poo. I'm worried about you and your better half so get better soon. I worry more here than at home. Anyway I am going to try and get my blog in. Tell Dave to breath....... And you shit already. Love you much Uncle rich
20th September 2012

skinny
Richie you musta lost another 20 lbs. by now?
21st September 2012

You're awesome.
Your journey is one of the reasons I am back on my bike and giving a shit about myself again. Keep going. You're doing great!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb