2 days in Toledo


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
March 18th 2006
Published: March 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The beauty of this medieval city was such a surprise for me. Toledo is situated on a rocky hill protected on three sides by the Tajo (Tagus) river. You enter the walls of the city and can climb up and down the cobblestone streets or look out at the river surrounding the city. The landscape alone is captivating. I enjoyed a break from school and the chance to relax in central Spain.

On the way to Toledo the bus stopped in La Mancha to view the famous Molinos of Don Quixote. The whole group had fun posing in front of the windmills and getting the chance to see the setting of Cervantes’ book.

Once in Toledo I went with my art class to see the gothic cathedral, the Monastery of San Juan de los Reyes, and El Greco’s masterpiece, “Burial of Lord Orgaz.” I love my art professor, Carmen, because she knows so much. It is funny to watch our group grow as tourists tag along to hear Carmen explain the history behind a painting or a building.

In my free time I also got to visit El Greco’s house, the Alcázar, and a Synagogue. I got to see more of Greco’s work in his house which was fun since he has such a unique style.

Toledo is also famous for swords and Mazapán. I was tempted to buy a sword for myself since they are so decorative. I decided though I would rather bring back ceramic dishes rather than a sword! All the guys had so much fun shopping in Toledo. Even though I didn’t get a sword, I did split a bite of Mazapán to experience the sweet pastry. The almond type of pastry tasted like cookie dough. Now I can say I have eaten Mazapán!

Overall, I loved the medieval architecture of the city and the chance to stay hang out with everyone from the school. The weekend was great. I highly recommend seeing Toledo.

I will be going to Morocco March 24-26 so please pray for my safety!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



18th March 2006

Toledo
I loved Toledo when we visited Spain. Chris will have to show you his sword. The city was so beautiful. I loved how old the buildings were and how narrow the streets were. It felt like you were going back in time. I'm glad to hear that you are having a fun time.
24th March 2006

Toledo
Has visto los molinos de viento, ya leiste el libro? Tia Cara.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb