Another world


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
April 2nd 2006
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

That’s right; I went to Africa last weekend. The three day visit to Morocco was by far the most distinct trip I have taken. I wisely booked the trip with a local travel agency in Seville so I was able to safely enjoy my visit with the tour guides!

Friday morning started early with a private bus ride at 5:30am to Tarifa in order to take a ferry across the Atlantic Ocean. We waited an hour in hopes of the winds dying down, but I don’t think we waited long enough. The ferry was a roller coaster, yet no one had fun. As soon as the ferry started moving people became seasick. I made my way outside to try and escape the intoxicating smell that was growing inside, yet I was welcomed with more sick people and the constant waves that splashed up from the rocky ride. After the longest forty minutes of my life, I was covered in salt and ready to touch land.

A local Moroccan guide met the group and took us from Tanger to Xauen, and then to Fez where the hotel was. My first meal of Moroccan food was amazing. The hotel served a buffet for breakfast and dinner so I got to sample the rich-tasting food. I never ate anything outside the hotel which ended up being really smart because everyone in my group got sick after the trip!

Saturday was filled with viewing palaces, touring the smelly market, and learning about the trades of the locals. The night ended with an authentic belly-dance show in an old palace. I learned that the dancers actually have bellies to move. The show was very eye-opening, in more ways than one.

Sunday we headed back north to catch the dreaded ferry. We stopped in a port city on the way and got to ride camels! This was the highlight of the trip. The feel of a camel is more of an up and down motion compared to riding a horse so it takes getting used to the rocky motion. Riding camels was one of the many new experiences over the weekend.

Thankfully the ferry ride from Africa to Spain was much better due to the weather so I made it back home safely around 2am. I can now say I have been to Africa!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



2nd April 2006

Glad you are having fun!
Hey Emily, Glad to hear about your travels to Morocco... the belly dancers must have been interesting, I can imagine! All the pictures are neat to look at, so rich. Do they speak French in Morocco? (My french teacher would be so disappointed that I've forgotten!). Thanks again for sharing your journeys with us who are stuck in the States :) Miss You, Amy
3rd April 2006

You were smart.
Your family is VERY thankful you are back in Spain safe and sound. You were so wise to book through a travel agent, and to only eat food from the hotel. Sometimes even that is not enough, but is at least a first line of defense. I've seen such dancers before, only in an American setting. We'll have to compare notes. Glad you're safe and sound. Aunt Cheri

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb