How many countries can I see?


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Faro
April 14th 2006
Published: April 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

How many countries can I go to while in Spain? I selfishly wanted to add another country to my list so I went to Portugal for two days. I took the bus to Faro and had a day at the beach and then wandered around the town. There wasn’t much to see so I enjoyed the tranquil little town and the fact that there wasn’t a pressure to see all the sights.

I have Semana Santa off from school which is the celebration of Holy week. During the week there are 50-60 different processions in Seville. The routes symbolize the journey made by Jesus to his crucifixion. The “pasos” or floats are decorated with the Virgin Mary or Jesus. Due to the Catholic influence, most of the floats focus on Mary. The believers here in Seville are disgusted with the idolatry of the floats so most of them do not watch the processions. The procession starting at 12:00am Friday morning is the highlight of the week called “La Madrugada” (daybreak). I was out until 6 am so I saw 4 of the 6 pasos. I thought the crowds would be more serious and respectful, although when people are drunk you have a whole different form of entertainment. Overall, I'm glad I got to see the processions and I was able to experience more of the Spanish culture.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



14th April 2006

Los Nazarenos?
Or the Ku Klux Klan? Everyone here thought that picture was of the Klan. Scary. We are all envious of "Enjoying the Beach" What a great looking crew. So you've been to Italy, Morocco and Portugal. And you're going to Greece. What about Monaco, Luxembourg, Switzerland? You may never pass this way again. Just be careful and have a great time. Love, Aunt Cheri

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb