A trip to Spain's capitol


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 4th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Spain loves to celebrate. I had another week off school for the regional festival, Feria. It is a week-long party that lasts 24/7. Instead of sticking around I planned a trip to Greece! My plane left from Madrid so I decided to tour the capitol. I took a night bus to Madrid and wandered all around the city. Madrid is very well-organized so it was such a blessing that I never got lost and I was able to figure out where to go all by myself! I felt so metropolitan taking the metro and visiting the museums. It was really nice to do the sight-seeing by myself, especially so I could go at my own pace in the museums.

My first stop was the Prado to check out what I learned in my art class. Then I walked to Reina Sofia to see Picasso’s work. I had my picnic lunch in Parque del Buen Retiro and then I hopped on a bus to go to Puerta del Sol. I took pictures of the stately Palacio Real and the Catedral de la Almudens. Since it was Sunday I couldn’t do any shopping since the stores were all shut. This saved time actually, so I was able to see a lot in the short amount of time.

My day ended with watching Spanish TV in my hotel room. What a great day-trip on my way to Athens!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb