Seeing off the familia (the REAL one), and, just who is Some Guy Named Mike??


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was a sad day 😞

I woke up and headed to the hostel to pick up my mom, eric, and S.G.N.Mike to take them to Madrid. Eric really wanted to see the Picasso painting Guernica, and fortunately, the Reina Sofia Museum is located right by the Madrid train station. UNfortunately for us, it is closed on Tuesdays (who the heck is closed on a TUESDAY??). I felt bad for him. We didn't have anything else to do in that part of town, so we took the metro to the Hard Rock Cafe in Madrid. That's right, we've eaten at HRC 2 times in the last 4 days.....and yes, it was amazing once again! Our waiter gave us free pepsi refills, and he even gave my mom a free coffee (she almost cried since she has been going through coffee withdrawals...). After spending 2 hours at HRC, we didn't have anything left to do but go to the airport. Now, I wasn't planning on making the trip all the way to the airport (as in going inside it), but somehow, they twisted my arm to come with. The downside?? I didn't have any euros to buy this stupid airport supplementry fee for the metro, so eric had to run to the atm and pass back some cash for me through the metro gate-thingy (thanks bro!).

I went with them to their check in (mind you they were about 12 hours early....), and there we sat. I decided it was best for me to not be sitting there with them the whole time, so I said goodbye to Eric, left a note for a sleeping S.G.N.Mike (thanks a lot man), and walked with my mom to where I would have to get on the metro. Yes, I cried. No, I am not a baby. And, SHUT UP, you would have cried too!!!!

So then I had to head back to the train station, and I have just arrived back in Toledo. Part of me was very sad to see them go; it was so nice to have a week just being with them and not worrying about school or anything. The other part of me is relieved that now I can get back to my "routine" (even though I don't know WHY I would want to do that!!!!!).

Looking ahead to my last 5 weeks here (correction on the previous countdown--- it's 34 days as of today), I have a lot of work ahead of me still. In fact, I should be working on some math homework right now! And of course, I get to go back to class tomorrow again....oh joy.....

Ohhhhh yea, for those of you who want to know, "Some Guy Named Mike" is one of my brother's roomates (although I am convinced he is homeless). Since I had never met him before he showed up in Spain, I referred to him as "Some Guy" in one of my blogs, and now the name has kind of stuck (I think he secretly loves it). Apparently those of you who read this and actually know him think this is pretty funny as well, so you have my permission to refer to him as Some Guy Named Mike too (I think he'll thank me for it 😊 )

Hasta luego!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb