My hellish Holy Week.....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
March 24th 2008
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, Holy Week (Semana Santa) is semi-officially over, and it was pretty interesting. Don't let the title scare you! It really wasn't that bad! It was so nice to get to see my mom and brother (and some guy named Mike showed up too...). We had a little drama to start off the week festivities, but eh, no pasa nada!

On Friday I sat in the airport for about 8 hours waiting for the flight to come in. Then I brought them to my house and introduced them to my padres. I think they hit it off! My mom brought me a bunch of fun things: new jeans, Q-tips, some books, and letters from my students!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😊))))))))))))))

On Saturday we woke up bright and early to head to Barcelona. We spent more time on the train getting to and from than we actually did in the city, but we got to see some cool things like the Sagrada Familia, the house that Gaudi built, and a big building that lights up different colors at night. Saturday night was spent hanging out with Eric (and some guy named Mike) in Toledo.

On Sunday, we headed to the airport for our flight to Rome. Yes, there were some issues, and no, I don't care to elaborate. But let's just say we made it to Rome (and we traveled in style). Rome was awesome! So many beautiful places to see. These include: the coloseum, the trevi fountain, St. Peter's, and the Pantheon (I will upload the few pictures that I took later, I promise!). We stayed in Rome for a few days, then headed to Venice. We didn't stay very long, but the water was beautiful (although it made it verrrry chilly!). I wanted to take a gondola ride, but it didn't happen 😞 After a few hours in Venice, we boarded a night train headed to some place in France (which was en route to Madrid). The night train was pretty nice. Getting to sleep through all the boring traveling was great, since some of us aren't able to fall asleep just anywhere and everywhere **cough**S.G.N.Mike** cough**) We made a pit-stop in France (we went through/past the French Riviera...very beautiful), where we ate lunch and waited for yet another train. Eventually we made it back to Barcelona pretty late, checked into a hostel, and then for dinner I had a Hawaiian burger in the form of a loaf of french bread cut lengthwise and served with 3 hamburger patties, pineapple, and a half a block of melted cheese on top.....delicious.....

The next morning (Friday????), we spent more time in Barcelona, but mostly just in the Hard Rock Cafe. Reasons why I love HRC: 1) the music is in english 2) the menu is in english 3) the waitstaff spoke english 4) the food was gooooood. We plan on finding the HRC in Madrid tambien. We got on a train back to madrid, then took our short train ride back to Toledo, where we proceeded to run into the largest crowd of people I have ever seen. Yes, it was Holy Week, and it was INSANE!!! FYI, when doing any kind of traveling (especially out of your country of origin), it is best to make some PLANS (**cough**ERIC**cough**). After a very stressful 3 hours wandering the streets of Toledo (and shedding some tears), we were all able to go to bed and be ok.

On Saturday tweetle dee and tweetle dumb slept in the hotel room all day, so my mom and I went around Toledo a little bit. I took her to the mall. It was the only fun place I could think of!

Yesterday we all went for a nice walk around the city (yes we were actually able to get those 2 out of bed). I got to show them a lot of cool buildings/sites, and it was nice to know what I was talking about and where I was going! But as long as I have been here, there are still plently of places I haven't had the chance to explore yet!

Today is Eric's twenty...umm....third(???) birthday.... 😉 We went out to lunch, and then my mom and I went to dinner later. I also had to go back to school!!! It was depressing. I couldn't concentrate on what I was doing since I knew my mom was stuck in the hotel room with the 2 rip van winkles.

Ok I am very tired, and tomorrow I have to take them to Madrid, and then see them off (very sad!!!) 😞(((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((

Only 32 more days until I am back in the States (not that I am counting or anything.....)


Advertisement



25th March 2008

Hola
Well, it's nice to finally have an update, I've been dyin over here heh especially since ur brother never tried to call me again after Tuesday(I wasn't expectin him til Wednesday so I didn't have my phone by me!) But it sounds like u guys have been havin a very chaotic(but good!) time n u've got me crackin up over the...(some guy named Mike)...haha I'm sure ur sad to see em go, but I kno they were happy to get to see u n u'll be back in the states before u kno it! Take care n tell em I say hi n look forward to their return, gracias, adios!
25th March 2008

Hi Swiss Miss
Hi Missy, I am glad that I was able to speak with you today. I think Eric is 26 now, he's almost 30! I am excited for mom to be coming back home so we can move. I also can't hardly wait for you to get back here as well. Take care, Love Dad
25th March 2008

Wow...
It looks like you had a very busy and exciting time with your mom and brother and it sounds like Holy Week there is pretty crazy!! So, who is Some Guy Named Mike? You mentioned him a while back too and I was wondering. Is this just some random who came to visit you? Yay!! You'll be home in a month and the kids will be soooo excited. We have to plan for a tortilla espanola and gazpacho day with them:)

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb