Things I love and hate about Spain...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
March 7th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, not everything is absolutely fabulous in Spain (we can't all stay in 'Stage One' forever!). I have decided to make 2 lists, one venting about what I hate/dislike in Spain, and one about what I really like about Spain. Basically, I am just really bored.... 😊

Things I HATE.....
-the 2nd hand smoke...I am pretty sure my life expectancy has decreased by at least 5 years already
-the fact that people don't clean up after their dogs on the street (apparently that's what the street washers are for)
-all the hills....my legs are sore!
-people staring at me whenever/wherever just because I am "different"
-people thinking I don't understand what they're saying
-the stupid obreros (construction workers) who cat-call when you walk by
-how slow people walk (or how fast my friends walk!)
-how being punctual isn't that important
-the people who take being here as a 3-month vacation (other americans at school)
-having to rely on public transportation for everything
-cobblestone streets
-slow internet/not enough computers at school
-being too scared to talk to people in spanish
-how cars try to fit down the tiniest streets when you are trying to walk
-Fish...if I never eat fish again when I get home, thats ok with me!
-trying to figure out how to convert from euros to dollars (or celsius to farenheit!)
-all the american tv shows are at least half a season behind
-when the bus gets really crowded and you have to stand
-trying to push your way through crowds of people
-tourist weekends
-how I can't find any clothes in my size
-they don't have butter for the popcorn at the movies (sad, I know!)
-they don't have Pepsi One (I'm buying a 24-pack when I get home!)
-how long it takes for mail to come
-missing people from back home
-the 7 hour time difference
-the 24 hour time telling ....I still have to do the math to figure out what time it is after noon.


Things I LOVE.....
-how you can never get lost because every street leads to one another
-having internet at my house
-realizing how much spanish I can actually understand sometimes
-how nice/helpful all my professors are
-watching tv in spanish and trying to follow along
-tomato, onion, and cucumber salad
-oil and vinegar
-the lack of "junk" food here (that's something I hate too!)
-siestas 😊
-my room...it's the best! 😊
-guillermo (fyi, Kaley re-named him 'Lechuga la Tortuga')
-talking with my intercambio
-volunteering at the Escuela de Idiomas (it makes me feel smart since they are english classes)
-how fast the days go by here
-having people ask me for directions because I look like I know what I'm doing (even though I hate answering because usually I can't explain it well in Spanish!)
-riding the AVE
-getting 3 day weekends every weekend (except when all my friends leave!)
-going to the movies
-cooking for my padres (as soon as I find jalapenos, I am making chili verde! My padre has never had a jalapeno before! he didn't know what it was!)


COUNTDOWN until mom and eric come????? 7 DAYS!!!!! WOOHOO!!!! 😊))))

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb