Spain so far


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Santander
June 10th 2011
Published: June 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

Well, my time in Spain has been very rainy. It has been quite cold and not suiting my taste for weather whatsoever! Besides that, things seem to be going well - visited a market, a bunch of shops, loads of beaches and two other towns in the province of Cantabria, Santillana del Mar and Comillas. I apologize, despite trying to get pictures uploaded to my blog, there was no success so I will post pictures at a later date...

It is now Friday, it rained a lot this morning and I slept rather late but managed to see the bread man do the delivery. There is a guy that delivers fresh bread to the houses where Begona's parents live every day - pretty cool I think. We are in town for the day so I can update my blog at the library, hoping to attend the music festival at 8pm tonight and tomorrow we are off to do a mountain hike with B's friend Chema.

The people eat food really late (dinner around 10pm)and stay up late so the first day-night was exhausting, the second night I slept like 13 hours....whoa, that is a lot for me. I am on holidays though so i suppose it is okay. Here is the rundown of my days so far:

Begona took me for a crazy long walk on Wednesday, we saw a bunch of beaches, a little seaside zoo that you can walk through (free) with penguins, sea lions, otters, swans, quite a neat discovery there. It took us about 4 - 5 hours to get to El Faro, the Santander lighthouse with a gorgeous view. It was worth the walk but I was pretty tired, forgot how much a person walks in Europe and the UK! Anyways, we took a shortcut back through the town where I was greeted with the array of shops to improve my tired mood. I bought an awesome outfit and splurged with boots, pants, a pretty blue top and a belt - spanish style! No more shopping for a little while...

Thursday was my sleep in because we had loads of exercise, got up late and we met Marimer, Begona's friend who drove us to the first village, Santillana Del Mar, cute little town where we visited an art museum and i saw some of the unique buildings...interesting and quiet town. We had a quick coffee at one of the bars and it was neat, they had these snakes on the wall and I noticed they had a spout, well - you purchase a card and the snakes will ooze your cider into a glass! Pretty neat idea.

Next stop was Comillas which was breathtaking for the architecture. Wow, I got a palace view, international university which was absolutely massive and impressive, a neat old church and the Capprichio of Gaudi, a famous Spanish Architect. Gaudi has a unique way of building and designing, for example - the benches built outside face the house because he believed it was more beautiful than the scenery. It is very unique and characteristic of his work. I will definately post a picture of this place when the computers allow. We found a cute dress shop - Marimer loves to shop as well and I tried on a lovely top but I am only allowed to browse sometimes, no buying because I won't get to wear all the cute outfits due to weather here.

That is my trip in a nutshell, I could write more but I would miss out on the sun that is finally showing up here in Santander. We are off for now. Adios! Hugs, Chloe

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb