The journey starts


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands » Tenerife
January 11th 2011
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Los españoles tienen que bajar un poco para leer el resúmen en español 😉

Well, the backpack is nearly filled with all that I will own for the next at least 6 months, I have had all my vaccinations put up to date, said goodbye to all the people I could, got the medical kit complete and even managed to apply for the travel insurance on time. I'm as ready as I think I can be at this point.

Up to now it hasn't quite sunk in yet that I am not going to be back here for nearly 2 years. Although I aknowledge that I am going to throw myself into very unfamiliar territory for a rather long time, I'm not really that nervous ... just excited.

This is basically the first post as an introduction to the rest of the trip. The route has changed slightly since I originally started the planning. it now looks like this. First Madrid for 5 days, from there to Newcastle and stay there for the same amount of time, then head down to London where I will stay the night to fly to Delhi on the 23rd. My plan is to stay there for a few days to allow for the culture shock to sink in and then head off to see the Taj Mahal. Once that experience has been lived its off to central India, probably Nagpur from where I will be headed for the east coast. Once I reach it it's off to Kalkutta and to the north, the birthplace of buddism. All in all it should take no more than 6 to 8 weeks. Since the border to Nepal is close from there I will cross it over land and head for Kathmandu and see if there are any trekking or hiking tours available and join those.When I feel like I'm done in Nepal I will take a plane to Cambodia. I'm not yet sure what I will do there but since there is still plenty of time there is no need to worry. The overall idea is to head for Vietnam, cross the border and go north up the coast (maybe do some windsurfing/kiteboarding while I'm at it) and then go east towards Laos. In Laos again I will find other things to do other than just head to the border with Thailand where I will travel south to Bangkok and use that as base point for other expeditions within Thailand. When I'm done there I intend to go south, visiting some islands on the way before I get to Malaysia. Malaysia I guess i will only be travelling through to get to Singapore. Aftera week or two there it's off to Indonesia, Jakarta, Bali ... who knows, to go on a small surfing trip before o after seeing more than the just tourist traps of the country. The next destination will probably be Australia although it might also be New Zealand, we will find out when the time comes.
For now I intend to just see what comes and try to mold it into the grand (albeit pretty vague) scheme that I have created for now.


Ahora el resumen para los españoles :D
A propósito, la mayoría de los nombres de países y ciudades no sé como se escriben en español y ahora mismo no me apetece buscarlo en internet :P

Ya estoy lo más listo que creo poder estar en este momento. He finalizado hacer la mochila con mis pertenencias de los próximos al menos 6 meses y curiosamente poco nervioso de empezar un viaje de este calibre.

Voy a resumir el trayecto que tengo pensado completar hasta los alrededores de junio. Mañana me voy a Madrid donde estaré un par de dias hasta ir a Newcastle a ver a la gente de mis años de carrera. Ahí estaré otros tantos días hast bajar a Londres que es donde saldrá mi vuelo a Nueva Delhi el 23. En Delhi me quedo un par de dias para luego ir a ver el Taj Mahal, continuando hacia el centro de India para luego dirigirme hacia el este hasta llegar a la costa. De ahi al norte, pasando por Calcutta, hasta llegar a la frontera con Nepal. En Nepal me quedare un tiempo todavía no determinado y luego tengo planeado coger un avión hasta Cambodia. Pasaré por Vietnam hasta llegar a Laos que usaré básicamente para llegar a la frontera norte de Thailandia. Bajaré hasta Bangkok y después de pasar el tiempo necesario (o más) seguiré hasta Malaysia, aunque solamente para ver Singapur al otro lado. El siguiente destino es Bali donde me dedicaré a coger olas y ver lo demás que tiene que ofrecer. A partir de ahí no sé todavía si ir primero a Australia o a Nueva Zeelandia. Ya veré en cuanto se aproxime la fecha.

Es es todo por ahora.

Ciao 😉

Advertisement



12th January 2011

lots of luck with everything
Hi Arne, danke daß Du uns teilhaben läßt an Deinen Unternehmungen. Wir freuen uns schon auf Deine weiteren Berichte. Solltest Du spezielle Fragen,zu einer Region in der ich schon war haben don' hesitate and ask. Mein Geschäftspartner ist gerade zurückgekommen aus Kambodscha und hätte vielleicht den einen oder anderen Tip.Lieber Arne,ganz viel Glück und Spaß und, und,, und.Wir warten auf tolle Berichte und Fotos.Ein bisschen beneiden wir Dich.Pass gut auf Dich auf. Für Dich Glück und Gesundheit ! Günther ,Monika,Marla und Skye

Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb