Madrid to Newcastle to Bristol and finally London


Advertisement
Europe
February 1st 2011
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I know you're all waiting desperately for the first entry of me in India, but this one goes first. have just a little more patience 😉
Sé que en realidad quieren enterarse ya de la que estoy armando en la India, pero esto va primero. Un poco de paciencia 😉


Madrid

Madrid really surprised me. From what people had always told me I was expecting a hectic, unfriendly city with matching unpleasant weather. None of this was the case, at least not for the 5 days I was there. I guess I must add that I was extremely lucky with the weather as every single day it was sunny and at least not as cold as I had feared. Also, having mentally prepared myself for the long travel times I remembered from London, I was not at all fussed with taking the 30 minute journeys on the metro or bus.
I spent 3 great days with Rocio, seeing the city and enjoying the lack of virtually any time constraints or other limiting factors such as work or resposibilities: a completely new experience.
I then had another fun 2 days meeting up with Oliver and Aelxandra and also seeing the Parque del Buen Retiro which provided great entertainment with all the street clowns, escape artists, puppeters, mimes and musicians. To tell the truth I wasn't repared for it so I just went with the flow and enjoyed it, completely forgetting to take any pictures for anyone back home.


Newcastle

Being in Newcastle was a great feeling. All the memories that come back after having been gone for nearly a year and a half. Meeting all of the people that had left at the same time as I did and finding them all back in the Toon as if drawn back to it for some reason or another.
Its funny to see how in Newcastle nothing has really changed except the life situations of the people I knew when I left. It's rather strange to see everyone now so distant from their student lifestyle.


Bristol

I had exactly 24 hours in Bristol with Rocio. I was able to stay in the same bed and breakfast as she was staying in thanks to her great relationship with the landlady who by the way is an AWAZING host. In between seeing the cathedral and the suspension bridge we had loads of Starbucks and even a Sunday Roast. Basically I made good use of that last few hours in a first world country. It was all in all a very relaxing experience apart from the last 15 minutes in which we found out that the Megabus stop to London was actually on the other side of town meaning we had to race to the bus station.
It was an exciting start to the journey when added to the unlucky coincidence that there had been and accident at the entrance to London that caused the traffic jam to be enough of a nuissance as to make the bus arrive 30 minutes late. This of course meant that I had to catch up on the underground and if it hadn't been for the helpful guy sitting next to me on the bus I might not have made it on time to check in at the airport.
... and so the real adventure begins ...


Y ahora para las clases de español de Maria Jose :D


Madrid

Me lo pase genial en Madrid. La verdad es me había esperado una cuidad con lluvia constante y un ambiente estresante rematado por horas en el transporte público, vamos, un Londres en el que hay menos ingleses. En cambio lo que me encontré fueron 5 dias de sol que aproveché para ver las partes más importantes de la ciudad con Rocío y reunirme con Oliver y Alexandra.


Newcastle

Disfruté mucho andar por la ciudad y reconocer todos los sitos en los que he pasado tanto tiempo como estudiante. En realidad todo sigue igual. Lo que ha cambiado es la gente que antes se dedicaba a la vida más alborotada de estudiante y ahora ... no. Ya me tocará a mi en algún momento sentar la cabeza como todos ellos hehehe.


Bristol

Coseguí aprovechar las 24 horas exactas en Bristol al máximo a la vez que cargué lo poco que me faltaba de mis pilas para la aventura que estaría por comenzar. Y la verdad es que empezó más interesante de lo que me esperaba dado que casi pierdo el Megabus que salía de Bristol al estar yo en una parada equivocada (menos mal que me lo dijo la conductora antipática de la otra guagua). Llegue justo a tiempo a la parada donde esperaba la correcta. Aparte de eso, la guagua llegó 30 minutos tarde al Victoria Station por un atasco que hubo en la entrada a Londres. Encima hubo una cola larguísima en los mostradores para los tickets del metro (que solo logré encontrar tan rápido gracias al hombre amable que estaba sentado al lado mio en el camino a Londres). Menos mal que resultó que el avion iba con retraso (aunque hubiese llegado a tiempo igual, solo más apurado).
Ahora solo hay que ver las sorpresas que me trae la India 😊

Un abrazo a todos!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb