Viva Las Palmas!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands » Gran Canaria
February 9th 2019
Published: February 9th 2019
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Las Palmas around 11 am and quickly made out way thru the airport and out to the taxis. Still overwhelmed by the number of smokers in this Country, it is the first thing you smell once leaving the airport.

Hayden wasn’t feeling so well on the second flight ( it was a little bumpy) mixed in with no sleep, so we were happy to finally be on land. A quick trip to the city center but still had 1 hour until our apartment was available, so we headed to a cafe and had a drink and fries!

Our landlord brought his friend Diego to translate for us (very thoughtful I thought). The apartment was very clean and only one line from the beach. Our patio actually looks right across into the very 1st apartment we rented when we stayed here last time. Partial view of the beach makes for an awesome apartment in my mind, but I think Sarah or Hayden could care less. The only requirement they have is for good internet. Go figure!!!

I know it is best to stay up and try to get accustomed to the time change ( which is 5 hours ahead) but the lack of sleep and the fact that Hayden was not feeling well, we decided to let him have his nap! Sarah and I headed to the mall (Las Arenas) and purchased phone plans for us all and did our first grocery shop to get some essentials and food for the week.

The apartment does not have an oven (I think that is so odd, but seems to be common here) so my shopping and meal plan is somewhat limited to frying and boiling. None the less I have some ideas!

After Hayden’s 4 hour nap, we went for a long stroll along the boardwalk and I showed him a few of my favourite shops. We stopped in at CrossFit Las Canteras and I introduced him to Pedro (owner) in hopes he would want to join me for some workouts!

Back home to some supper, Steak Fajitas Las Palmas style (Lindsay’s fave meal from our last trip) and then early to bed. Well for me at least. Hayden still managed to get back to sleep at a not so late hour, Sarah on the other hand, I hear was still snap chatting at 1 am- seriously how is this possible?

Day 2 - One thing is for sure, you need to be a sound sleeper here in Las Palmas. Every door is super thick, needs to be SLAMMED shut in order to lock and apartments were built with little to no soundproofing. They also have blinds on the windows (think more like storm shutters) but sound like garage doors when opened and closed. You can literally hear everything ….and everyone seems to get up super early…..doh!! The noise I can fix (I bought myself a fan to sleep with), but the hard mattress is killing me, I do not think I can make it 27 more sleeps on that mattress. This is my biggest fear when booking an apartment longer term. Sleep is my #1 priority and if I can’t sleep well, I am miserable and then everything falls apart. So as lovely as the large master bedroom was, I opted to switch with Sarah for the smallest room with no window coverings and a trundle bed (but the mattress was more to my liking). No biggie, now I can sleep better and just learn to become an early riser with the
Dad's work out spotDad's work out spotDad's work out spot

Check this out!
sun..right?

Kids were still sleeping at 9 am and I found out the coffee maker didn’t work. Ugh, so I opted to go out for breakfast and a morning walk. I stopped for bacon and egg and cafe leche at a favourite spot and took in the views. The mornings are cool and clouds still rolling out, but by 11 am the sun is hot and about 17 degrees. I went to the gym and signed up for my month of CrossFit before heading back to wake the kids. Pretty relaxing day, just chilled, for the most part, went back out for another walk after lunch with kids and then a quick workout on the beach before dinner. We stayed in and watched a movie (Laura Croft) as we were still adjusting to the time difference.




Day 3 -5. Kids have settled into their routine. Hayden gets up early and Sarah sleeps late. They both spend too much time on their computers so I am trying to figure out a way to get them outside and making plans to be more active (seems to not be working..doh)

I have worked out at CrossFit every
LolitaLolitaLolita

Santa Catalina park
day (4 in a row- IKR who does that?) and getting in at least 15,000 steps a day.

I also found a coworking place right in our apartment building. How convenient or is it?.

Kids started Spanish lessons on Wednesday and will continue for the month, 2 x week.



Friday, February 8th. It's Lindsay's 21st birthday today. Happy Happy Birthday. I am missing her today and wished we could spend it together, drinking wine of course! Hopefully, she spends it with friends and enjoying the California sun!!

So the next best thing was to go out for dinner with our friends here, so we met up with Mel and Tom (friends I met last time we were here, and they happen to be back same time as us) and had a nice chat. Food was good but the wine and conversation were better. It was nice to get out and chat about life and let the kids experience something other than their computers! It was fun to hear stories from people who love to travel as much as we do and to hear the experiences they have had. It really makes you sit back
Rock PierRock PierRock Pier

Checking out the sites
and think, are we getting the most out of life?….for us, it is the experiences we can make for ourselves and for our kids (whether they appreciate it yet or not). We want them to see other places and how people live. So far most places we have traveled the people are similar, some just speak a different language, have different cultures and routines, and most have better climates than us 😊 I want them to see that life doesn’t have to be just about school, work, computers etc (the grind) It can be about being happy, no matter the $$ you make, the house you live in, the cars you drive. Sure some of that is important, and there is a time and place for it all, but there is more to life. I want them to experience life, see what else is out there, take chances and do things they love with the people they love.



Tomorrow is Surf Day. and Sarah has a lunch date with friends from last year. Hayden is going to try his first lesson ( he promises to do one for Sarah). I am not sure if he will like
DrinksDrinksDrinks

At the Block Cafe
it or not, but I am happy he has agreed to try. Next week Sarah has to try Boxing for Hayden! And maybe both will try CrossFit for me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



14th February 2019

Great to hear from you and the kids - it is nice that you guys are having some quality time together - time goes so quickly and soon they will be involved in their own families. I am so proud of you and Sean Cindy and how you have raised your family and the lessons for life you have made available for them. Life here in Florida is great and living in our kindergarten for seniors is more than I ever hoped for in retirement - its a great life - love you guys and give Hayden and Sarah a special hug for me - love ya
14th February 2019

No, you are great!
Thanks Dad and Joyce. The apples don't fall far from the tree. Living by examples we get from our families. Miss you guys . Enjoy your trip with Wendy and Len. XOXO
14th February 2019

Great to hear from you and the kids - it is nice that you guys are having some quality time together - time goes so quickly and soon they will be involved in their own families. I am so proud of you and Sean Cindy and how you have raised your family and the lessons for life you have made available for them. Life here in Florida is great and living in our kindergarten for seniors is more than I ever hoped for in retirement - its a great life - love you guys and give Hayden and Sarah a special hug for me - love ya
17th February 2019

Pic's !
Great picture,s Cindy. Looks like a great place for a holiday. The kids don’t realize how lucky they are, but I,m sure it’s all good for them and Dad will be there soon to tune them up haha Eric &Judy

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb