Day Three


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country
August 24th 2017
Published: August 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Day Three

Roncevaux to Larrasoana 25 km

When you first arrive at the Roncevaux monastery, there is a water fountain at the top of a long set of stairs leading to the registration desk. DO NOT drink that water. All hikers, including me, were filling up and drinking like crazy. Later in the afternoon I overheard someone say there is no drinking water in the building and you must go to the public fountain about 2 blocks away. Sure enough, I checked and there was a health warning posted in a crammed PSA bulletin board. Good one! Maybe post it next to the fountain??? Just a thought.

Anyhoo - Today I'm off to Larrasoana and I can't decide if my stomach feels good or not...

By now I've sort of joined a herd of walkers from all over the world. Three guys from Deutschland, a couple from Italy, two sets from South Korea, and three hardcore ladies in their seventies from the UK. We all eventually arrive in Zubiri first, a small oasis town about 5 km short of Larrasoana. I stopped to rest and have a bite to eat then into my final destination. The last five kilometres were brutal! My pack felt like it doubled in weight and I'm starting to contemplate dumping some stuff from my backpack, but carried on.

I arrived in Larrasoana at a reasonable hour and booked myself in at the municipal albergue. They have all the amenities. Kitchen, wifi, a bar, bunks, and washing facilities. Comfortable, but rustic. At this point you don't really care, so long as there are showers. I liked the town. People were great and welcoming.

Tomorrow it's unto Cizur Menor just outside Pamplona.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 21; dbt: 0.1195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb