Day Two


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine
August 24th 2017
Published: August 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today started at 12:19 am with someone in my shared bunk space having to pee. They were using a bright led headlamp. Woke everyone up. I purchased a led headlamp too, but it has a red light option so you don't wake everyone and blow your night vision at the same time.

Breakfast was served at 7 and everyone was on their way to Roncevaux, Spain. Total was 17.1 km of steep climbs and winds gusting up to 50/kph. I found myself leaning into the wind so I would get blown off the trail. The winds were headwinds for most of the way, making the trek just a little more challenging.

Arrived into Roncevaux at about 1:30 pm. There is no drinking water at the monastery where I'm staying (183 beds), but there is a prominent tap at the entrance to the albergue with a couple hundred thirsty hikers walking past. The bad water sign is inside the building and in Spanish only. Good skills guys! Hopefully I don't suffer any waterborne bug problems. Guess I'll know soon enough. Tomorrow is a long one. 25 km to Larrasoana.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb