Day Four


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country
August 24th 2017
Published: August 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Day Four

Larrasoana to Cizar Menor 20.7 km

Today's walk was much easier hill-wise but I'm starting to feel twinges in my feet and sides of my left knee. It is supposed to be hot, so I woke at 6:00am to take advantage of the cool air. Air was cool but my glasses fogged very quickly due to misting. As the day wore on, temps started to reach 35C as I approached Pamplona. Luckily Kirsten loaned me her red bandana. Not sure she is going to want that back (ugh). Pamplona is a very metropolitan city with the bull runs contained within the walls of the local citadel. Very touristy which was to be expected. Lots of post bull run stuff on sale; however, I'm already at max capacity. It's about this time that I reassess my backpack contents looking for anything to pitch away. I settle on my guide book bought in Edmonton. I left it on top of a garbage can. Perhaps someone can use it to learn English?? Anyway that a few grams off my mind. Still looking for more, but not sure where to cut next. Cizar Menor is about two kilometres outside of Pamplona. Those last two km were the hottest! My legs are burning but I'm loathe to carry lotion.

Got to the local albergue and it's quite comfy. Bunked accommodation as usual, but full kitchen and laundry as well as a backpacker market just up the road ( small prepacked food you can carry and not have to cook).

They even have a 24-hour pharmacy 😊

Tomorrow will be brutal. A steep incline to Puenta la Reina 20.4 km.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb