Thanksgiving and Bodegon Alejandro


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
November 27th 2009
Published: January 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This time of year is always hard when you dont get to spend it with your family. At least for me it is because i am very close with my family. I have had a really hard week and i have been missing home like crazy. On wednesday I got to be skyped in to Brandon's family Thanksgiving and see his family which was really nice. I really miss getting to see little miss olivia (his 1 year old neice) and i finally got to see Eli for the first time! He is sooooo cute, but huge for his age. He was born on Sept. 1st the day i left to come over here and i was so upset that i didnt get to see him before i left. But it was so exciting to get to talk to everyone and see the little ones again. I really missed them all. They are like a second family to me. Yesterday, for thanksgiving i cooked a apple pie and it was absolutely amazing. I was so proud of myself because we didnt have a pie pan or measuring cups but i improvised and it turned out delicious anyways. Also, most of the group had gone off to Amsterdamn for the weekend since we had a long weekend and then my roommate Mia disappeared as well. I think Sara said she went to Belgium or something. But that left me kind here in San Sebastian by myself feeling really homesick and depressed. So as you can imagine i cried a lot. But Sara and Katherine had stayed in town and although i hadnt really hung out with them very much they had decided to go out to eat at this nice Basque restaurant for Thanksgiving dinner and they invited me along. The restaurant was called Bodegon Alejandro and it was a michelin star restaurant and it was absolutely amazing! In case you are wondering what a michelin star is, it is a ranking system for restaurants but most restaurants dont even get a star. It ranks from 0-5 stars and any restaurant that gets even just one star will have absolutely fabulous food. I guarentee it. Also, another interesting fact for those that are into good food like i am, there are more Michelin stars in the Basque country alone in Spain than are anywhere else in the world. The Spanish and better yet the Basque cuisine is absolutely amazing. I ate a three course dinner and shared a bottle of delicious wine and it was by far the best dinner i have ever eaten in my entire life. I had a seafood soup which was perfect. I had for my entree a pan seared scallop in this heavenly garlic butter sauce and it was cooked to perfection. Finally i also had the tarte de manzana or apple tart as my dessert and it was ok. Although not my favorite by any means. But i cant complain at all because the food was delicious. We then after dinner returned to my apartment and ate apple pie and then i got to skype with my family during thanksgiving. It was really hard to have to hang up the call to my family and i was very homesick. But i had a very nice evening as well so I cant complain.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb