Situated


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
January 12th 2010
Published: January 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

So cliche haha
Okay, I am finally going to actually update this thing haha. I am in San Sebastian finally and met my host family yesterday afternoon. They live in a newer part of the town right by the university. Pretty much all of my friends live on the opposite side of the city, but it's a 40-50 min walk from one side to the other which really isn't bad. I walk EVERYWHERE. The city is so beautiful, and much different from what I expected. There are shops everywhere, like more stores throughout the city than there could ever be people. My family consists of a married couple and 2 daughters. One is my age and in France studying ballet, the other goes to school in Berlin and is 22. She and her boyfriend were here last night and today and drove me to a mall on the outskirts to get some much needed socks, among other things. She also let me wear her clothes since I have none! haha They are all super nice and speaking isn't as hard as I'd expected. Dinner was hard though, when they're all talking fast and at once it's really hard to understand. The dad and daughter
Alcazar of SegoviaAlcazar of SegoviaAlcazar of Segovia

the castle that inspired the Disney one
know some english which was helpful at times. The food has been delicious, I'll really need to get used to the schedule though-I feel like they don't eat all day until 3-4 (by then I'm starving out of my mind) and then they eat again in a few hours around 9.
Classes start tomorrow. We had to take a Spanish placement exam-I'm taking an intensive language track, a culture and civ. class, basque folkdance, cultural representations of the civil war, and I want to sign up for music classes called "De Elvis a Rap" which is really popular with the locals I guess.
The Madrid tour was pretty fun. We drove out to Toledo and Segovia, both of which were what I pictured when thinking of a small European town with cobblestone streets, etc. The cathedrals are amazing-upon entering the one in Toledo my jaw literally dropped. In Segovia we saw the Alcazar de Segovia where King Ferdinand and Queen Isabel lived. First time seeing a legit castle and it was "just like in the movies!" =D We also saw this awesome aqueduct from the 1st century built when it was a Roman military town. Oh yeah, small little fact about that... it's made without mortars =O
A group of girls and I went to the Prado Museum one night which was sweet. Saw stuff por el Greco, Poussin, Velazquez (Las Meninas was way bigger than I imagined), etc. Only got to see like 1/4 if that because it was closing =(
That's all I can think of for now, hasta luego.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

SegoviaSegovia
Segovia

Royalty
Madrid nightMadrid night
Madrid night

city hall
Dinner in MadridDinner in Madrid
Dinner in Madrid

sooooo many artichokes
Chicas!Chicas!
Chicas!

enjoying a meal. Apparently the bread they put on the table is 11 euros.... messed up
ToledoToledo
Toledo

loved this city
Holy Church CathedralHoly Church Cathedral
Holy Church Cathedral

couldn't take pictures inside, but it was insane in the membrane


Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb