San Sebastian


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
July 10th 2005
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Still madly in love with San Sebastian! In fact, I will only accept a marriage proposal if it's made in the big square here, with all the people in their houses around the square throwing rose petals down on us and my fiance on one knee. (Future husbands, take note).

So, after we ran ecstatically around the pension for a little while, and took hot showers, the sun came out and we headed out, deliriously happy and hungry for lunch. We stopped in a restaurant where the menu made our mouths water (who am I kidding... all San Sebastian menus are mouth-watering, this one was just the first one we found). Unfortunately, we had mediocre pasta, mediocre wine and mediocre service. To top it off: as she turned to reach into her purse, which had been slung over the back of her seat, Miranda realized her purse was no longer there! It had been stolen right from under here, and I was across the table looking at her the entire time! Damn these sneaky Spaniards for being such adept pickpockets!

Miranda had to spend the rest of her day dealing with cancelling credit cards, wiring money, etc. etc. I'd had enough of that crap for one holiday, so Dominic and I left her and Dan to deal with it and we went for ice cream. We each got a cone and went to eat them on the beautiful beach. We sat on the sand and I teased him about being so insanely anal and concerned about getting sand in his shoes and on his pants. I would never in a million years date Dominic in real life, but I guess he's fun enough to hang with on holiday.

Dominic left to meet Buffy, Dan and Miranda took a nap, so I spent the rest of the afternoon wandering around town by myself, watching all the action in the streets. Then I bought a couple of beers and stood out on the balcony, smoking and drinking and enjoying myself immensely.

Dominic and Buffy came to pick me up around 10pm and we found a restaurant where we had a lovely meal, then we hit a few more bars and went to bed by 2am. It was great to be out of El Diablo and in a real bed with blankets and pillows!

The next day, we had a tapas lunch on the main square and I decided that I'm never again going to eat a full meal in San Sebastian. In fact, I'd rather not eat a full meal ever again, but instead just snack on tapas everywhere I go. I had delicious croquettes, delicious brie and tomato on a baguette, and salmon on a baguette. Fantastic!

We spent the afternoon at Playa de la Concha beach, one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen with fantastic views of the Jesus statue on a hill. In the early evening, Dominic and Buffy were leaving so we said our goodbyes at the train station. When all is said and done, he wasn't such a bad guy and I enjoyed pretending I had a boyfriend for a few days. I think we'll meet up again sometime in London.

Dan, Miranda and I did the tapas rounds for dinner, and after about 8 glasses of wine, I was finished so I went home to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0956s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb