San Sebastian Angel


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
July 9th 2005
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

San Sebastian has taken the number one space so far on this trip, and I can't imagine it being replaced anytime soon. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it here!!

What a GORGEOUS city!!

So, the bus ride took an hour or so. Me, Dan, Miranda and Dominic arrived in the morning headed straight to the Internet Cafe (Donosti-Net, or something). We hadn't already booked accommodation, which we'd been told was not the wisest move as everyone on Earth is looking for accommodation in San Sebastian during the festival. But we were optimistic that we'd find something. So we parked ourselves at computers and began our search. After a couple of hours of no luck, I went outside for a cigarette to relieve the stress a little bit. As I was standing there talking to a few Aussie girls with the same predicament, I shouted out: "Can anyone give me a place to sleep?!". Just then, a man walked by and told me he has a pension that we could stay in, and that I should come see him in a house nextdoor in an hour and he'd set me up. I was so happy, I ran back into the Internet Cafe and told the others, and they were psyched too. So, an hour later at noon, we went to the house he said to meet at, and there were about 50 other backpackers there too. I was so disappointed that he'd told everyone the same thing as me. We knew our only option left was to rent a hotel room, which was going to cost us 100 euros each for two nights. I wasn't willing to pay that much, and Dan and Miranda were so desperate that they said they'd cover me, but I didn't want them to do that either. It had started pouring rain, the option of sleeping on the beach was totally out of the question, so I asked them to give me time for one more cigarette, to clear my head and figure out what to do.

And then I realized that my smoking habit is a real God-send, because the same man I'd spoken to before, my angel (I think his name is Geronimo, but I'll call him my Angel), walked by and told us he had indeed held the room for us! He walked us through the charming old streets to his pension: 2-bedrooms, 4-beds, 2 bathrooms and our own private balcony. Right in the old town. And only 20 euros each per night! I was so happy, I literally ran to the window, flung open the balcony doors, and shouted: "I LOVE SAN SEBASTIAN!!" to the street. It's the greatest, luckiest, coziest place I've ever stayed in!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.407s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb