Italian Food and School


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
February 18th 2011
Published: February 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello!!

Well, since I posted last, I have seen the Bellver Castle and a town called Valledemosa (where the musician Chopin spent a lot of his time.) Both were interesting and beautiful of course.

I went to mass on Sunday evening inside the La Seu cathedral here in Palma which was really cool. The entire mass was of course in Spanish and I was dissapointed to discover I do not remember the spanish "Our Father" that I had to memorize in Spain. Oh well.

Also, ate the best italian food I have ever had in my life at this restaurant called Garibaldi. 20 euro for all you can eat all you can drink. You may be thinking if its all you can eat all you can drink, the quality of the food/drinks are terrible but you couldn't be more wrong. Brick oven made pizza and homemade al dente pasta wowowowow, amazing. Owned by a classic italian family who are so friendly and adorable.

This past week marked my first of school here in Mallorca. I am taking 4 classes (Palma Mediterranea, European Culture, Women in Spanish and Latin American Literature, and a class to improve my spanish writing.) It seems like most should be pretty managable, but school here is soooo different than it is in the states. Multiple students will be carrying on a conversation while the teacher is lecturing and she won't really say anything. It's crazy.

I'm also doing an "intercambio" with a professor of tourism marketing at the school which means we meet once a week and speak an hour in only english (so he can learn) and an hour in only spanish (so I can learn.) That starts Wednesday, so looking forward to it!

Wednesday was a friend in my program's 21st, so that was a blast and last night, we met 3 people (one from Wales, one from Newcastle, and one from New Zealand) who have spent the past few years travelling the world working on yachts. They had some absolutely incredible stories to share, it was great.

Finally, my friends, it's confession time. For those of you who know me well, you know that while I am a sports enthusiast, I have always been one to complain about soccer. Well, its only taken less than 3 weeks in Spain, and I have converted into a fan. The way people go nuts for it here is absolutely fascinating to watch, and I have found myself stopping into bars or restaurants if a game is on to check it out.

Real Madrid plays Barcelona in June while we are still here, so I am already looking forward to that and hope to go to one of Mallorca's games!

Today is beautiful weather, so some pals and I are renting bikes and heading to ride along the water.

Thanks to all of you who have been reading and commenting! I love staying in touch and miss you all!! Glad there has finally been some warm weather up there!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb