Cliff Jumping


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
February 27th 2011
Published: February 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

A few cool things to fill you in on. This week was a blast. The weather was amazing and I got a couple great runs along the beach in. Nothing wrong with that.

Tuesday and Wednesday night my friends and I did "La Ruta" which is a group of 25 small bars around Palma that have a drink and a tapa for 2 euro! We didn't hit all 25 haha but the ones we went to were so cute and fun. While at one of them on Tuesday night, we overheard some people speaking English and we could tell they were American. Sure enough we went over there, and they were from Iowa. Graduated from UNI (university of northern iowa) recently. Small, small, SMALL world, isn't it?

Yesterday (Saturday) a group of about 25-30 of us Erasmus students (meaning students studying in Palma from all around the world) rented cars and drove about an hour outside of Palma to a beach called Cala Barques. Again, do yourself a favor and google image this spot. Absolutely breathtaking. Clearest water I have ever seen.

Right when we got there, a group of guys wanted to cliff dive into the ocean. Mind you, the water here is still extremely cold, but I have been wanting to cliff dive ever since I got here. Since I knew we were staying late into the night, I brought a change of warmer clothes. Decided to jump in the clothes I was wearing and change after. What a rush. It was sooooooooo much fun and even though I could barely breathe when I hit the ice cold water... it was so worth it.

As I was standing along the cliff wall trying to find a way to boost myself up, I looked down and there was an OCTOPUS like 2 inches away from my feet. Craziest thing I've ever seen. Although I was screaming at the top of my lungs as its tentacles were inching toward my feet, I have to admit it was really cool looking. It's body was about the size of a large gerbil and its tentacles seemed to extend endlessly. Talk about life experiences hah.

On the beach, we ate some lamb that one of my friends slow roasted over a fire for about 5 hours. Delicious.

Today I am absolutely exhausted from the weekend, thinking of going to see a movie.

School is going well. We 2 days of holiday tomorrow and Tuesday for El Dia de Las Illes Baleares which is a festival here on Tuesday, so I only have class Wednesday then off to ROMA for the weekend!

I just need to take a minute to thank my parents and grandparents who have made this experience possible for me. I have never in my life felt as blessed as I do here in Palma and I just want them to rest assured that I am not taking one minute of this trip for granted.

Until next time!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb