Living for the weekends – Es Trenc beach, Son Amar, the tennis open and a trip to Palma aquarium


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
June 16th 2019
Published: July 31st 2019
Edit Blog Post

Once our days off come round we have the pleasure of deciding where on this beautiful island to explore next. We've heard loads of people going on about Es Trenc beach, which is meant to be the nicest beach in Mallorca (or at least the most popular), so we decide to head there for the afternoon to see what all the fuss is about. We make some sandwiches and pack the suntan cream and beach towels and head off moderately more prepared than when we used to be in our twenties. I even pack a change of pants for the journey home lol.



It takes about 40 minutes to get there from our house, and the last part of the journey into Es Trenc is pretty nail biting to say the least as the roads are super narrow, yet cars just seem to zip along without a care in the world. At some points we pass another vehicle going about 40kmph and it is so narrow our wing mirors are practically touching and I even hold in my breath for good measure. Not before time we arrive at the car park which is the only accessible place to park (because of the narrow roads) and therefore also expensive. Thankfully we had already been pre-warned about the parking fees so at least we are prepared for it and Greg can't have a mini meltdown over it. Still, 7 euros is a bit of a sting in the tail considering we know we'll only be there for a few hours yet its the same price if you stay for one or ten hours.



Es Trenc beach itself epitomises the usual Mallorquin picture postcard views of clear bright blue seas and white, sandy beaches. Yet I'm not blown away by it. I think its because it is quite a long, narrow beach and it is just the same all the way along without much variation. There are no coves or bays or little rock outcroppings to explore. Just lots of half burnt tourists smelling of coconut sun lotion sitting in rows 2 feet away from each other. There is only 1 little beach hut selling food and drink so which means they have the monopoly on prices, which are certainly not cheap. A small espresso is the cheapest option at 2.50 euros, but opt for a glass of sangria and it will set you back 7 euros. For me I guess I prefer slightly smaller beaches with more character and that less people know about. But its still always interesting to see new places.



The next day we plan on going on a boat trip, but when we wake up the sky is overcast and it is actually a little bit chilly and windy so we figure its not the best conditions for a boat trip. We try to think of a back up plan and then we conclude we should head to the aquarium instead. We've been told we get in free if we flash our wok passes, and are pleasantly surprised when they do indeed let us in for free. Inside it is really peaceful and I feel really relaxed watching all the different fishes swim around in their tanks. Its a lot bigger than I had expected too, and there is an amazon forest area, an outside section including a pond with coi carp you can feed, and a tank you can swim with the manta rays.



But of course the star attraction is definitely the shark tank. I am and have been fascinated with sharks as far back as I can remember and used to get loads of books on them from the library when I was little. At one point I could tell you the most dangerous top ten species, where they were from and their distinguishing features, and where the most shark attacks happen in the world. So I do get a bit overexcited whenever I see them. As we approach the tank, a nursing shark heads slowly but steadily straight towards me, its beady eyes not breaking contact with mine. I actually think at one point its going to bump into the tank wall but at the last second he turns and glides away, but always with those beady eyes following me from behind the glass. Our last stop is by the jellyfish tank which is a big cylinder tank in the middle of the room that also lights up. It reminds me of the bubble tubes and lava lamps that were popular in the 90's. It is quite mesmorising watching them float about as the colours change and Greg almost has to drag me away.



We also find out that the women's tennis open championship is going to be held in Santa Ponsa in the middle of June so we decide to buy tickets to go and see that. I always enjoy going to watch live sports events. And at 20 euros a pop we really can't grumble, especially when its only 5 minutes down the road from where we live. It's absolutely roasting on the day we are due to go, the first time we can feel a real change in the temperature and the humidity since we got here. Its like someone just flicked a switch all of a sudden. The night before the event we are working a late shift at work, which means the next morning we are dashing about at the last second as per usual trying to get sandwiches (and of course booze) organised for taking with us (we refuse to pay the extortionate prices at these events). With it being a tennis event, I am assuming the prices for food and drink will be even more astronomical.



The walk takes much longer than I had hoped and it is a straight road that goes on for about 2km without much shade. And my bag is packed to the rafters with mini bottles of cava, sandwiches, water and suncream so I feel my arm is about to collapse under the weight and I have a nice dent in my shoulder. I am just praying they don't do a thorough search of my bag when we get there otherwise it has all been in vain. At this point confesses he has managed to delete the email confirmation of our tickets and all he has is a screen shot of them, so we're now also concerned that they won't let us in. So it is an uncomfortable and tense 30 minute walk.



We needn't have worried as the guy on the door does little more than glance at the tickets and doesn't even look at my bag filled with goodies which is a massive result! We take a wander around and actually see that the food tent is quite reasonably priced and a pint of beer is only 3 euros and a cold glass of prosseco is 3.50. So we decide to have one in the tent and watch a few of the warm up matches from the cool of the shade. The first big match is starting at 2pm in the main court, so we finish our drinks and head along. I'm still waiting to be frisked at any minute but I don't, and we get a chance to eat our pieces in the stand without any hassle at all. The stand is actually quite quiet and we get a great view of the court which I am pleasantly surprised about. But the temperature has climbed even more and I can feel the sweat dripping off me as I slide about in my uncomfortable plastic chair. The first match is between Victoria Azarenka and Caroline Garcia. At first, Azarenka dominates the first set and it looks like Garcia has never touched a tennis ball before, but Garcia finds her second wind and comes firing back to win the next two sets and the overall match It's really close though and very exciting to watch. It actually goes on longer than expected so we don't have to wait much time until the next match which is at 4.30pm. But we decide to move to the back of the stand where there is a little bit more shade, and everyone else seems to be thinking the same thing. The stand fills up a lot more for the next match with the main draw being the Russian player Maria Sharipova.



Its another really close match and the first set goes to a tie break with the two players neck and neck until Sharipova finally breaks the serve and wins the first set. Kuzmova seems to run out of steam after putting everything into the first set, and Sharipova sails through the second set wining the match. The final match of the day is between Angelique Kerber and Ysaline Bonaventure. We watch the first two sets where Kerber dominates overall, but as its 7pm and we have been there since 12pm, we decide we need to get back to the dog so miss the final set. It's been a fabulous day and I am definitely pleasantly surprised at not being ripped off for drinks. Twenty euros a ticket to watch some big names all day is way better value than I was expecting.



Our final adventure for this week is getting to go to the Son Amar show, which is something I'd been looking forward to going to for ages but didn't think we'd get the chance to go as it is quite expensive. But our work has given us free passes so I am really excited. The only down side is we are both working at 8am the next day so Greg is driving and we can't have a proper bevy but never mind. The room is set up in a tiered horseshoe shape so all the tables get a good view of the stage. The show is typical cabarat style with dancing, singing, acrobatics and a bit of comedy flung in here and there. I enjoy the show but I can't say I am blown away with it either. Perhaps I had built it up so much in my head and I was expecting a cirque de soleil style show, so was disapointed when there was more singing numbers then lots of daring stunts and impressive acrobotic routines Food is included in the price but is a bit of a let down and consists of one very overcooked piece of chicken hidden in a creamy sauce. At first I am excited and impressed when they tell me they cater for all dietary requirements including gluten free (and especially when I see Greg's brownie for dessert) but then my heart sinks as they serve me a plate consisting of a few bits of overripe fruit, including one single strawberry for dessert. I mean, I am gluten intolerant not flavour intolerant! There are so many desserts you can make that are gluten free that would've made me feel a little bit more special - they could even have scooshed a bit of cream or drizzled a bit of chocolate over them at least. But anyway, the entertainments manager assures us it is not about the food it is about the show. We are told the last 15 minutes of the show consists of a Queen medley, but I almost miss it as I don't recognise many of the songs. And they seem to do one queen song and then have a random dance act in between songs so it feels a little disjointed. The final part of the show is when everyone is ushered outside to watch the illuminated fountains in the gardens rise and fall in time with the music. Its actually one of my favourite parts of the show and reminds me of the Bellagio fountains in Vegas (have I mentioned I've been to Vegas lol) on a smaller scale. I am glad I have gotten the chance to see the show and the venue but I am also glad I haven't had to pay for tickets, as with the cheapest tickets about 75 euros, I think I would feel a little let down. Especially when you compare it to Benidorm palace which is very similar and yet only 35 euros for the show only. Still,, i'll never refuse a freebie!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0924s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb