Day 2


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca » Santa Maria del Cami
April 24th 2011
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

His whole blogging thing takes some getting used to. Thus that's why I ended mid word, niw the unfortunate part remembering what word...
Ahh yes espresso, right I was deluded we somehow thought the jersey shore two years after our first bout would somehow improve. Well I'm here to say that Pauly D and Snookie missing as was bruce spring stein. Sad that we went from referencing the jersey shore with Bruce Springstein and we have downgraded to Pauly D, the situation and Snookie. That is truly sad and I have to wonder how The Boss feels about that?
Ok so no improvement and btw it always rains when I am struggling with wind and traffic. So I am wearing our only cycling mirror
I am going to digress for a second - shocking
Germans who are the main group of cyclists on the island shun mirrors. I am working on an answer to that and I am down to two assumptions
1. Eyes ib the backs of their heads. Possible they are an efficient people sometimes in an off-putting kind of way like never saying hello to me...
2. They are all Buddhist and hoping to return as Lance Armstrong (ha ha ha that's right an american cyclist) and not just any cyclist but a rocking best ever!

Back to my original train of thought or as close as I can get five minutes later. Ed likes for qqme to let him know about cars behind us when we cycle so ala ragbrai (best American ride) I yell at the top of my lungs car back ( could be why the Germans don't say hello)which means I am horse this evening because for forty straigt minutes I screamed car/bus back.
Finally we turn Ahhh a tailwind I am happy but don't worry it started to rain. Did I mention it was a balmy 52 which is not balmy on a bike with rain. In fact it is down right chilly. Don't worry we are only an hour or so from home.
Don't worry it gets better.. I say to Ed whatever we do I can't go through downtown inca last time it ws raining tons of traffic and I actually shed tears, no worry not a problem. Ok, a little problem we keep riding in cold taint and come to a literal fork in the road. Do we take the road less traveled. oh no we go with the Disney theory, oh you are not familiar with the Disney theory it is always go left becUse most People go right. True in this case left says INCA
But in my defense it says inca in lower case and I thing it was italicized, now seriously has anything italicized ever been a bad thing.

NO it hasn't
Oh right until today, did I mention it was on a quaint wood sign, wee forget italicized, I will never trust it again.

It should have been in neon because whAt it meant was

Hey, this is goling to take you through jersey city, at rush hour in cold rain.
So we get to the city center and ( I wear the mirror and yell car back, Ed rides ahead and yells its clear at intersections)
Saving my life at many points
Oh except for in the center of rush hour (yes I know it was Easter Sunday and there should not have been a rush hour, but there was)
So Ed went through the intersection and I come through only to slam on my wet brakes to avoid a near disastrous collision with a truck!
I yell some choice words such as

Dear how could that have happened

Reality
Are you nuts!!
I almost died, did you take an insurance policy out on me recently??
I then force him to walk at leAst 6 city blocks until we mAke it out of INCA
Which is the same as hAnging the scarlet letter cycling around his neck.
But never mind there are no other cyclists to see you in Inca to 6:30 in the evening because Germans not only have eyes in the back of their heads
they know better.

So apparently I get paid back for that whole walking your bike thing because I kid you not I have not one
But two flats in a row.
I change each one fast
Because I am the goddess of bike repair and we roll into home two minutes before dark and 80 miles
Bringing our grand totAl to 120!!
Ok notes of the day
Mallorca is even good in the rain
We didn't even threaten divorce during INCA
Our 16th anniversary and my niece brooke's anniversary was the 22nd yea for all of us
We miss the kids
Yes all three oF them!
Ed would have passed more cyclist without me, but he has me so oh well.
My thumbs are not tiny enough for no typos a d check facebook for photos they Are easier to post.
Last note Ed should be Al Roker it is minute by miunute weather good grief


Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb