Day 26 Luarca to Navia 22K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Asturias » Navia
May 24th 2017
Published: May 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Nice B & B last night, nothing special but very comfortable. My trip is prepaid and some of the accommodations offer 1/2 board or dinner when you arrive and breakfast in the morning. This has been problematic because dinner is NEVER before 8:30. I usually arrive by 4pm, then what? No food all day and wait another 4 hours? So, I started asking can I trade dinner for lunch? You basically get the special of the day at the restaurant which a choice of starter (3 choices) and a 2nd plate of meat, fish or pasta. The standard price is 10 euros, that includes beer or wine. The answer is sure, so I have been eating my main meal between 2 to 4pm instead of 8:30 to 10pm. That is working for me.

The walk today is a copy of the last 3 days with the exception of the steep walk back out of Luarca. It's a long uphill walk back to the highway. Today I counted 11 pilgrims on the road in front of me, most I have seen in 26 days. I have been noticing the size of the average Pilgrim is XL. There are no skinny Pilgrims, at least none that I have seen, they are all big burley strong walkers. With in 2 hours the group has spread out to the point I cant see anyone, alone again, nice. Its cool with a thick cloud cover, nice for walking. It's the same rolling hills, with ideal small farms, tidy houses, well kept yards, lots of flowers. Most farmers are cutting hay right now, they use those big trash bags to stuff the hay in then stack the bags near the milking barn. In todays walk I came upon a particularly well kept small farm with lots of flowers, huge garden, neatly trimmed trees and shrubs. As I come around the corned I see the old farmer trimming his hedge . He is standing on a rickety chair with an electric hedge trimmer. Shoot, I could trim this, it's only eye level to me. Off with my pack, over I walk to the old farmer and say " please may I help," I spoke in Spanish, but my diction probably sucked. He looks pissed that I invaded his space, but undaunted I pick up the trimmer and begin trimming the top in line with what he started. It's quite easy for a tall guy. At first he did not know what to think, but I was not screwing up and it was going fast. A few minuets later the old guy is gone, I look around, he is not gone he has pulled up a chair to watch. OK, good he trust's me. I finish the trimming, put down the trimmer, and he jumps up comes over and pulls me around the corner to the rest of the hedge. This guy is a Tom Sawyer! OK, Big deal another 10 minuets I wack that out. I turn around and the wife has pulled up a chair to watch! Pretty funny. I am finished and the couple insist I have a glass of what I thought was lemonade but was actually lemon water. Very nice, did quench any thirst. I shook his hand and took off, another nice encounter with a local.

The rest of the walk into Navia was uneventful. Another great Day. Enjoying my Camino.

Advertisement



24th May 2017

can you do our yard too please?
:-)

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb