Day 25 Ballota to Luarca 22K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Asturias » Luarca
May 24th 2017
Published: May 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After yesterday not sure it could get any better. I did suffer the worst B & B of the trip though, no heat, no Wi Fi no TV, freezing cold, drafty and I could reach each wall with my wing span, making the room just about 6'6" wide, Tiny room. I had to heat the place up with an ancient hair dryer.

The walk, however is a copy of yesterday. Along the coast with ocean views all the way. The Camino wonders on and off a highway that is virtually unused. There are two major highways running Parallel to the road by the Camino, making the road devoid of all cars except a few locals and farm equipment. The Camino take me down to a playa that would be impossible to get to except on foot, totally isolated and beautiful. The ravines are still with me but not as high. So again the rise and fall of the land is the rhythm of the day. Cool temps, great trails another day of perfect conditions. I am looking forward to my random act of kindness today, what will it be? The day wears on as usual, I never stop for food or water until I get where I am going. Today I make an exception, its hot and I need a beverage. A small bar shows up and I go in and order the coldest thing in every bar in Spain, Servasa! I am finishing my beer when 3 kids come in to the Bar. They are over at the freezer figuring out what they can buy and who gets what. Two boys and a little sister, guess who is gonna get the smallest treat here! After much negotiating, punching, arguing, the choices are made. However the owner must open the freezer before they get their grimy mitts on the ice cream. The bar tender is about to go wait on the kids, when I tell him "give the kids anything they want in the freezer, I will pay BUT the girl gets to pick FIRST". He gives me a knowing smile a tells the kids "pick anything you want to white hair guy is paying, BUT the girl picks first"! The surprise on the faces was priceless! I never turned around but could see them in the mirror over the bar. The girl was not tall enough to reach in the freezer so she pointed to the biggest ice cream bar on the on the image sheet on the freezer. She gets her ice cream, waits for the boys to get theirs, then the boys run out of the bar like the stole the ice cream. I still have not turned around, she comes over and pulls my pant leg. I turn and face her, she look terrified, but she wiggles her finger for me to come closer, I bend down and she cups the hand around my ear and whispers "thank you". The boys are outside looking in the window, shocked at the boldness of the sister. Then she calmly turns and walks out of the bar, with ice cream held high! The bar tender and I laughed till we had tears running down our faces. He let me pay for the ice cream but would take no money for the beer.

Great walk gets better, as I head into Luarca, it is a stunning small fishing village, down in a hole with this perfect cove around it. It's a steep decent into town, but the beauty of the surrounding rock formations, the perfect cove with smartly kept fishing boat all around is just so amazing. Love this place! There is a river that runs right thru town with several bridges you can cross to get to the main town. Another highlight of this trip for me is Luarca, its story book amazing. I just cannot believe what a great day this has been. Lucky me!

Advertisement



24th May 2017

aaah....
that's awesome Uncle Rick! What a sweet little girl. I'm sure you made their whole year with those ice cream treats :-)

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb