Day 24 El Pito to Ballota 25K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Asturias » Cudillero
May 24th 2017
Published: May 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

This day starts with the best breakfast yet, I am the only one in this B & B. but the local folks come here the start their day. All kinds of good stuff to start your day, eggs, french toast, ham cheese, fresh O. J. fruit, toast, home made jam, pastries.

The walk is still in what I would call, the Beverly Hills of Spain. What this area must have been like in its prime. The old and sometimes abandoned stone Mansions are so great to see. The rock walls, and iron work around the properties are astounding! There are no highways around, just one lane paved roads and forest trails. This is my very favorite kind of walking. Only nature sounds, cows munching grass, sheep bleating, chickens clucking, geese honking, its perfect walking weather again, cloudy and cool in the am, clouds giving way to sun after 1pm. I really enjoy the individual gardens, seeing whats ripe, whats just being planted, whats ready to harvest, even how they stake beans, tomatoes is all new and different. I find myself stopping to pet friendly cats, taking photos of flower gardens really just enjoying the day. These people won't starve, virtually every house has a garden, chickens and a cow or sheep. All the food groups at every house.

As I am walking I see an older woman hanging up laundry, which is common, I think a clothes dryer might be a luxury here. She is very short, old and kinda gimpy, she can't quite reach the clothes line where she wants to hang the next piece of laundry. I throw off my pack and walk over to her and ask "can I help you," in Spanish by the way, been practicing. She was kinda shocked and a bit worried, but I know how to use a clothes pin. So I spent the next few minuets helping her hang towels, sheets, sox whatever. Actually I was tempted to ask her to do some laundry for me. 5-10 minuets later we are done, I pick up my pack and begin to move on. WAIT! She yells, she thanked profusely and I said "nata" short for danata. She rewarded me with the best short woman hug I ever had! Right then and there I told myself I am going to do at least one random act kindness per day every day. Until.......well until I don't want to. It was so easy and brought such joy to her AND me and cost nothing but time. It's my Camino, I got time. The rest of the day was equal to the start, great walking trail, amazing scenery, great weather, pinch me, it does not get any better that this for me, unless of course my girlfriend was with me.

Advertisement



24th May 2017

RAKs
Love reading about all of your random acts of kindness... you're the best Uncle Rick!!
26th May 2017

I love your interactions with the locals...
and your decision to do one act of random kindness every day! This is the essence of the Camino.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb