Ordesa


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Aragon » Torla
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nov. 21st, 2009
Zaragoza is a city in the middle of a desert. It only rains about 300 mm per year and windmills for electricity are the most common crop growing up in these fields. However, it is only two hours drive from the Pirineos, the mountain range that divides Spain from France, where Ordesa National Park is. I went up there only for a one day visit. I wanted to be alone in the middle of an impressive place, I wanted to walk... to think... . Sometimes, being alone is not a way for avoiding somebody but a way of being with the people you would like to go. So I rented a car and left Zaragoza early in the morning; there was a thick fog, I missed the windmills this time... .
Torla is the first stop. It is a small village just before entering the park. From there, there is a short road that brings you inside the park without too much sightseeing; inside the park: if you want to see, you have to walk. The bottom of the valley, where several trails start, was full of snow. The forest ranger said that some trails were impassable and recommended me the one that goes close to the river through the whole valley up to the cirque (not a cirque with clowns... I mean, a glacial cirque...).
It was a nice trek, very nice. I walked for 5 hours, 17 km!... and I really enjoyed! There were waterfalls, forests, an open valley and finally the amzing cirque with a waterfall: the horsetail. I wonder why waterfalls are always called either "horse tail" or "bridalveil".
Coming back, first signs of rubbing appeared (ouch...!), today I have a cold (atishoo...!) but I also got all the peace I was looking for.
I put some pictures below. Hope you like them!
Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb