Bella Benalmadina


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
April 13th 2014
Published: May 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Back on the same train as yesterday but to get off 15 minutes earlier at what everyone promised me was the very pretty seaside town of Benalmadina. Straight away I saw a gorgeous little church surrounded by purple blossom trees, huge crowds were spilling out all carrying palm leaves after participating in the Palm Sunday services. I had a leisurely breakfast at an outdoor café overlooking the church and then headed on a long, long walk through all the backstreets down to the sea front. To be honest I had no idea how far it was or where the hell I was going. I presumed the sea would be quite close to the town centre… boy was I wrong. I think I found it by luck more than good management. Around 45 minutes later, having walked through huge parks, a Hindu Temple, a Buddhist shrine and the dolphinarium I came across huge apartment complexes that looked like they had been designed by my beloved Gaudi and then stumbled upon the sea front. What a glorious beach and back view. I began a walk towards the harbour which was deceptively far away. Again the journey was pleasant due to endless stops for a drink, the read and to soak up the sun. I finally reached the harbour which is attached to a huge shopping complex and sea life centre. The harbour has recently been voted the prettiest in Europe and yes… I’ll accept that title… stunning cream coloured stone buildings surrounding a boat filled harbour. Bars, restaurants and boutiques line the walking route and it then opened out to the sea. I caught the hop on/hop of tourist bus which I finally tracked down, mainly because I wanted to visit the largest Buddhist stupa in the Western world which is tucked away on top of a huge hill about 4 KM away from the centre of Benalmadina and this bus made the journey. The views from the villages leading to the stupa were glorious and of course the stupa itself was a sight to behold. The return trip took in the other part of the town and the tackier end of the hotel/tourism trade, a far cry from the wealth of the end I first discovered through walking down to the harbour. Having a final drink in a sea front bar I headed back to Malaga to catch the first of the Holy week processions which were passing close to the hotel. Thousands of people lined the streets in one of the most bizarre processions I have ever seen. Huge statues of a crucified Jesus or Mary in regal clothing are held aloft by 12 or so men and slowly paraded through the streets on pre designated routes which last hours. Bands play music to accompany them and hundreds of people dressed up in outfits of varying colours that make them look like they are members of the KKK also make it a spectacle I will never forget.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb