A General Update For My Adoring Fans. :)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
March 6th 2012
Published: March 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! Last weekend I didn't do anything too exciting, because I'm starting to run low on money! And when I say run low on money, I really mean low on money. As in I don't know how I'm going to get through the rest of the semester. Yikes! I don't know what I'm going to do about that problem....maybe start a "support Katie in Spain" fund? We'll see. I would have liked to go to the Canary Islands as it was 2 of my friend's, Alex and Alina, 21st birthdays. They went from Friday through yesterday and came back nice and tan, but also said they spent a lot more money than they intended to spend while there. In the end, I'm glad I decided to save money and stay in Seville for a weekend.

Actually, I did get out of Seville for the day on Sunday. A few friends and I took a bus to the nearby beach city of Matalascanas, and layed on the beach for the day. It was about an hour and a half bus ride, and only cost about 14 euros. It was warm and relaxing, but there was a little wind. That was really the only thing that put a damper on the day. That and the fact that I got more sun than I thought I did and ended up getting pretty burnt on my legs. Oh well, that seems to happen every year, better to get it over with early I guess. Also, on the way back to Seville there was a TON of traffic, so instead of taking 1.5 hours, it took 3 hours. Let's just say I was ready to get off that bus. I also decided to take a little swim in the ocean. It was fun, but the waves started to get kind of strong and I think the ocean had a fun time rolling me around in it. I got a little scared and got out pretty quick. I'm a good swimmer, but I can just hear my mom in the back of my head saying "You never know with the undertoe!" She's the reason I don't worry about things, why worry when you have your mom to worry about everything for you? Hahah.

Speaking of mothers, I booked the hostels for my spring break when my mom and brother come. We're officially going to Madrid, Valencia, Lisbon, and Seville. So far we only have a futbol game on the agenda, but I told them to look into the cities and decide if there is anything they must see. We're open to suggestions if anyone has any! I have 3 other trips coming up before my program ends: Barcelona, Morocco and Lagos, Portugal, but I'm most excited to see my family over spring break. With all these trips coming up, I believe that this weekend will be my last one in Seville. Pretty weird to think about!

What else...Well, I've been putting about 10 euros on my phone every week or so, but decided that I don't really need a phone. There is wifi in my house, so if I need to contact people I usually just use facebook. To talk to my family I can use skype on my computer, and I also have a skype app on my ipod that I can use. In addition, I use an app called textnow that allows me to text anyone in the U.S. for free. Between all these other technologies, I don't really feel the need to have a cell phone. It would be nice to have one while I'm out, but I'm usually with the people that I would talk to anyway, so it's not really a big deal.

I had an exam today. That was oh so exciting. It's getting to the point in the semester where I have to force myself to go to class everyday. It's getting so warm here, the high is now around 70 everyday, that being outside is sooooooo much more tempting than sitting in a classroom. I just have to remind myself that it's only for a few more weeks.

I'm sure there is more that I should be talking about, but I've felt a little sick all day, so I might just go to sleep early and call it a night.

Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb